Members of Parliament

73Total Members

Members of the House

42Total Members

30 Male

Members of the Senate

31Total Members


President of the Republic

On January 20, 2023, the Electoral College of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago elected Ms. Christine Kangaloo as the Seventh President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. Ms. Kangaloo is this country’s second female President. When her name was submitted as a nominee, Ms. Kangaloo held the position of Attorney-at-Law and President of the Senate, a position she was elected to on September 23, 2015, at the start of the 11th Republican Parliament and again, on August 28, 2020 following the 2020 General Election.

The Prime Minister

Where there is occasion for the appointment of a Prime Minister under Section 76 (1) of the Constitution, such as after a General Election, the President must appoint as Prime Minister a Member of the House of Representatives who is the leader in the House of the party which commands the support of the majority of members of that House.

President of the Senate

In 2015, Mr. Nigel de Freitas was appointed a Government Senator and subsequently elected Vice-President of the Senate of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, making him the youngest person to ever hold the position of Vice-President, at age 36 years, in the Trinidad and Tobago Parliament. Following the General Election in 2020, Senator de Freitas, was again appointed a Senator and elected Vice-President in the 12th Republican Parliament.

Speaker of the House

Mrs. Bridgid Annisette-George first entered Parliament as a Senator and Attorney General on November 8, 2007 and thus became the third woman to hold this post in the history of Trinidad and Tobago, following Mrs. Kamla Persad-Bissessar and Mrs. Glenda Morean-Phillip. She was elected Speaker of the House of the 11th Parliament on September 23, 2015.

The Leader of the Opposition

The Constitution provides for a Leader of the Opposition who is appointed by the President. That person is a member of the House of Representatives and who in his judgement is best able to command the support of the greatest number of Members of the House of Representatives who do not support the Government.

The Ombudsman

Mr. Rajmanlal Joseph was appointed the fifth (5th) Ombudsman of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago by Her Excellency Paula Mae-Weeks, ORTT, President and Commander-in-Chief of the Republic Trinidad and Tobago for a period of three (3) years with effect from May 19, 2021.