House of Representatives


Motion: Appoint JSC – Legislative Proposals – The Prevention of Corruption Act

- 1st Session - 10th Republican Parliament

BE IT RESOLVED that a Joint Select Committee be established to consider the Legislative Proposal for the Amendment of the Prevention of Corruption Act, Chap. 11:11 and report to Parliament within three (3) months from the date of appointment:

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Joint Select Committee be authorized to:

  1. consult with stake holders and interested persons;
  2. send for persons, papers, records and other documents; and
  3. recommend amendments to the proposal.

(By the Attorney General)

12 Jan 2011
House DebateHansard
18 speakersShow Speakers
2.The Honourable Colm Imbert [Diego Martin North/East] [Opposition Member]
3.Mr. Jack Warner [Chaguanas West] [Minister of Works and Transport]
4.Senator the Honourable Dr. Amery Browne [Diego Martin Central] [Opposition Member]
5.The Honourable Winston Dookeran [Tunapuna] [Minister of Finance]
6.Mr. Fitzgerald Jeffrey [La Brea] [Opposition Member]
7. Dr. Surujrattan Rambachan [Tabaquite] [Minister of Foreign Affairs]
8.Ms. Alicia Hospedales [Arouca/Maloney] [Opposition Member]
9.Mr. Herbert Volney [St. Joseph] [Minister of Justice]
10.Mrs. Patricia McIntosh [Port-of-Spain North/St. Ann’s West] [Opposition Member]
11.Mr. Prakash Ramadhar [St. Augustine] [Minister of Legal Affairs]
12.Mrs. Joanne Thomas [St. Ann’s East] [Opposition Member]
13.The Honourable Stephen Cadiz [Chaguanas East] [Minister of Trade and Industry]
14.Senator the Honourable Paula Gopee-Scoon [Point Fortin] [Opposition Member]
15.Mr. Chandresh Sharma [Fyzabad] [Minister of Local Government]
16.The Honourable Dr. Keith Rowley [Diego Martin West] [Leader of the Opposition]
17.Senator Dr. Tim Gopeesingh [Caroni East] [Minister of Education]
1 Feb 2011
Senate DebateHansard
17 for, 9 against, 1 abstention
18 speakersShow Speakers
2.The Honourable Fitzgerald Hinds [Opposition Senator]
3.Senator Subhas Ramkhelawan [Independent Senator]
4.Senator David Abdulah [Government Senator]
5.The Honourable Faris Al-Rawi [Opposition Senator]
6.Senator Corinne Baptiste-McKnight [Independent Senator]
7.Senator the Honourable Rudrawatee Nan Gosine-Ramgoolam [Minister of Public Administration]
9.Senator Helen Drayton [Independent Senator]
10.Mr. Fazal Karim [Minister of Science, Technology and Tertiary Education]
12.Senator Dr. Rolph Balgobin [Independent Senator]
13.Senator Dr. James Armstrong [Independent Senator]
14.Senator Danny Maharaj [Government Senator]
15.Senator Dr. Lester Henry [Opposition Senator]
16.Senator Lyndira Oudit [Vice-President of the Senate]
17.The Honourable Pennelope Beckles-Robinson [Leader of Opposition Business in the Senate]