House of Representatives

Workings of the House

The Trinidad and Tobago Parliament comprises the President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, the Senate and the House of Representatives. The House of Representatives is made up of the elected representatives of the forty-one (41) constituencies and the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Section 47 of the Constitution states that a person who:

  1. is a citizen of Trinidad and Tobago at the age of eighteen years or upwards; and
  2. has resided in Trinidad and Tobago for a period of two years immediately before the date of his nomination for election or is domiciled and resident in Trinidad and Tobago at that date.

shall be qualified to be elected as a member of the House of Representatives.

The Presiding Officer is the Speaker of the House.