3rd Session of the 10th Republican Parliament

The Dog Control Bill, 2013

An Act to provide for the control of dogs and to regulate the manner in which certain breeds of dogs are kept by their owners or keepers; to repeal the Dangerous Dogs Act, 2000 and for related matters

The Bill as introduced requires a special (three-fifths) majority in order to be passed.
Related: The Dog Control (Amendment) Bill, 2014

Introduced By:
Anand Ramlogan
Bill No:
House of Representatives Bill 10 of 2013
Introduced On:
Published In Gazette On
20-May-2013, Vol.52 No.81
President of the Republic - Partially Proclaimed


20 May 2013
House of Representatives
Gazetted Bill
1 speakersShow Speakers
17 Jun 2013
2nd Reading of the Bill Hansard
2 speakersShow Speakers
2.Mr. Colm Imbert, MP [Diego Martin North/East] [Opposition Member]
21 Jun 2013
2nd Reading of the Bill Hansard
6 speakersShow Speakers
1.Hon. Dr. Surujrattan Rambachan, MP [Tabaquite] [Minister of Local Government and Minister of Works and Infrastructure]
2.Mrs. Patricia McIntosh, MP [Port-of-Spain North/St. Ann’s West] [Opposition Member]
3.Hon. Dr. Glenn Ramadharsingh, MP [Caroni Central] [Minister of the People and Social Development]
4.Hon. Dr. Keith Rowley, MP [Diego Martin West] [Leader of the Opposition]
5.Ms. Alicia Hospedales, MP [Arouca/Maloney] [Opposition Member]
3 Jul 2013
2nd Reading of the Bill Hansard
1 speakersShow Speakers
3 Jul 2013
Committee Stage Hansard
amendments made in the House of Representatives
1 speakersShow Speakers
3 Jul 2013
3rd Reading and Passage of the Bill Hansard
36 for, 1 against, no abstentions
1 speakersShow Speakers
9 Jul 2013
Bill incorporating House amendments
1 speakersShow Speakers
9 Jul 2013
2nd Reading of the Bill Hansard
16 speakersShow Speakers
2.Sen. Faris Al-Rawi [Opposition Senator]
3.Sen Subhas Ramkhelawan [Independent Senator]
4.Sen. the Hon. Christlyn Moore [Minister of Justice]
5.Sen. Terrence Deyalsingh [Opposition Senator]
6.Sen. Corinne Baptiste-McKnight [Independent Senator]
7.Sen. Pennelope Beckles-Robinson [Leader of Opposition Business in the Senate]
8.Sen. Prof. Harold Ramkissoon [Independent Senator]
9.Sen. Shamfa Cudjoe-Lewis [Opposition Senator]
10.Sen. Dr. Victor Wheeler [Independent Senator]
11.Sen. Fitzgerald Hinds [Opposition Senator]
12.Sen Elton Prescott, SC [Independent Senator]
13.Sen. Dr. James Armstrong [Independent Senator]
14.Sen. Dr. Lennox Bernard [Independent Senator]
15.Sen. Dr. Rolph Balgobin [Independent Senator]
16.Sen. the Hon. Anand Ramlogan, SC [Attorney General]
10 Jul 2013
Committee Stage
10 Jul 2013
3rd Reading and Passage of the Bill
1 speakersShow Speakers
31 Jul 2013
President of the Republic
Act 11 of 2013
2 Jun 2014
Legal Notice 226 of 2014.
sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 5A, 8, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 26A, 28, 30 and the Schedule to the Act come into operation.
(includes the related Legal Notice 227 of 2014)
blog comments powered by Disqus