6th Session of the 5th Republican Parliament

The Bail (Amendment) Bill, 2008

An Act to provide for powers and jurisdiction in relation to pollution of the seas from ships, intervention on the high seas in cases of oil pollution, dumping of wastes at sea, prevention of pollution from ships, preparedness and response for oil pollution emergencies, liability and compensation for pollution damage and matters incidental thereto

This Bill seeks to amend the Bail Act, Chap. 4:60 to make the offences of kidnapping for ransom or knowingly negotiating to obtain a ransom under the Kidnapping Act, Chap. 11:26, non-bailable offences for a period of sixty days, but thereafter bail may be granted at the discretion of the High Court.

The Bill will also make certain violent offences (including possession of a firearm or ammunition without licence, certificate or permit
under the Firearms Act, Chap. 16:01, or trafficking in a dangerous drug or being in possession of a dangerous drug for the purpose of trafficking under the Dangerous Drugs Act, Chap. 11:25, or kidnapping at common law or assault occasioning actual bodily harm) non-bailable offences where a person has been convicted on two prior occasions for any of those offences or a combination of those offences arising from a single incident.

The Act would be inconsistent with sections 4 and 5 of the Constitution and is therefore required to be passed by a special majority of three-fifths of the members of each House.

Introduced By:
Bridgid Annisette-George
Bill No:
Senate Bill 30 of 2000
Introduced In:
Introduced On:
President of the Republic - Assent


11 Jul 2008
House of Representatives
1 speakersShow Speakers
18 Jul 2008
2nd Reading of the Bill Hansard
7 speakersShow Speakers
2.Mr. Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj, SC, MP [Tabaquite] [Opposition Chief Whip]
3.Hon. Donna Cox, MP [Laventille East/Morvant] [Minister of State in the Ministry of National Security]
4.Mr. Subhas Panday, MP [Princes Town North] [Opposition Member]
5.Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Diego Martin North/East] [Minister of Works and Transport]
6.Mrs. Kamla Persad-Bissessar, SC, MP [Siparia] [Opposition Member]
18 Jul 2008
Committee Stage Hansard
18 Jul 2008
3rd Reading and Passage of the Bill Hansard
The Bill was passed by a division of 26 for, none against and 11 abstentions.
1 speakersShow Speakers
22 Jul 2008
1st Reading of the Bill Hansard
1 speakersShow Speakers
16 Sep 2008
2nd Reading of the Bill Hansard
14 speakersShow Speakers
2.Sen. Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
3.Sen. Dana Seetahal, SC [Independent Senator]
4.Sen. Mohammed Faisal Rahman [Opposition Senator]
5.Sen. Dr. Ramesh Deosaran [Independent Senator]
6.Sen. the Hon. Martin Joseph [Minister of National Security]
7.Sen. Cindy Devika Sharma [Opposition Senator]
8.Sen. Subhas Ramkhelawan [Independent Senator]
9.Sen. Lyndira Oudit [Opposition Senator (Temporary)]
10.Sen. Annette Nicholson-Alfred [Independent Senator]
11.Sen. Dr. Carson Charles [Opposition Senator]
12.Sen. Helen Drayton [Independent Senator]
13.Sen. Gail Merhair [Independent Senator]
14.Sen. Dr. Adesh Nanan [Opposition Senator]
16 Sep 2008
amendments made in the Senate on 16 September 2008
16 Sep 2008
3rd Reading and Passage of the Bill Hansard
The result of the division at Third Reading: 23 for, 6 against
1 speakersShow Speakers
19 Sep 2008
House of Representatives
Senate Amendments Hansard
Senate amendments agreed to by the House of Representatives.
4 speakersShow Speakers
1.Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Diego Martin North/East] [Minister of Works and Transport]
2.Mr. Subhas Panday, MP [Princes Town North] [Opposition Member]
3. Dr. Tim Gopeesingh, MP [Caroni East] [Opposition Member]
4.Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Diego Martin North/East] [Minister of Works and Transport]
19 Sep 2008
President of the Republic
Act 17 of 2008
blog comments powered by Disqus