House of Representatives


Private Motion: No Confidence in the Prime Minister

House of Representatives - 2nd Session - 10th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS an unending series of events have demonstrated:

  1. The Prime Minister’s gross incompetence;
  2. Failure to stimulate the economy and create sustainable employment;
  3. A consistent unwillingness to act in the best interest of the people of Trinidad and Tobago;
  4. An absence of effective management of officers under the control of the Prime Minister, resulting in persistent confusion and encouragement of wrongdoing in the conduct of the national affairs of Trinidad and Tobago;

BE IT RESOLVED that this Honourable House express its concern and lack of confidence in Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

(By the Leader of the Opposition)

2 Mar 2012
9 speakersShow Speakers
1.The Honourable Dr. Keith Rowley [Diego Martin West] [Leader of the Opposition]
2. Dr. Roodal Moonilal [Oropouche East] [Minister of Housing and the Environment and Leader of the House]
3.Senator the Honourable Dr. Amery Browne [Diego Martin Central] [Opposition Member]
4.Senator Anil Roberts [D’Abadie/O’Meara] [Minister of Sport]
5.Mrs. Patricia McIntosh [Port-of-Spain North/St. Ann’s West] [Opposition Member]
6.The Honourable Errol Mc Leod [Pointe-a-Pierre] [Minister of Labour and Small and Micro Enterprise Development]
7.Mr. Fitzgerald Jeffrey [La Brea] [Opposition Member]
8. Dr. Glenn Ramadharsingh [Caroni Central] [Minister of the People and Social Development]
9.Senator the Honourable Donna Cox [Laventille East/Morvant] [Opposition Member]
3 Mar 2012
11 for, 29 against. Motion failed.
18 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator the Honourable Brig. John Sandy [Minister of National Security]
2.Mr. NiLeung Hypolite [Laventille West] [Opposition Member]
3.The Honourable Dr. Delmon Baker [Tobago West] [Minister in the Ministry of Finance]
4.Mrs. Joanne Thomas [St. Ann’s East] [Opposition Member]
5.The Honourable Winston Peters [Mayaro] [Minister of the Arts and Multiculturalism]
6.Senator the Honourable Paula Gopee-Scoon [Point Fortin] [Opposition Member]
7.Senator the Honourable Kevin Ramnarine [Minister of Energy and Energy Affairs]
8.Ms. Alicia Hospedales [Arouca/Maloney] [Opposition Member]
9.Mr. Prakash Ramadhar [St. Augustine] [Minister of Legal Affairs]
10.The Honourable Colm Imbert [Diego Martin North/East] [Opposition Member]
11.Mr. Jack Warner [Chaguanas West] [Minister of Works and Infrastructure]
12.Ms. Marlene McDonald [Port-of-Spain South] [Opposition Chief Whip]
13.The Honourable Winston Dookeran [Tunapuna] [Minister of Finance]
14. Dr. Surujrattan Rambachan [Tabaquite] [Minister of Foreign Affairs and Communication]
15.Mr. Herbert Volney [St. Joseph] [Minister of Justice]
16.Senator Dr. Tim Gopeesingh [Caroni East] [Minister of Education]
17.The Honourable Dr. Keith Rowley [Diego Martin West] [Leader of the Opposition]
18.The Honourable Kamla Persad-Bissessar SC [Siparia] [Prime Minister]