House of Representatives


Appointment of Members – Police Service Commission

House of Representatives - 5th Session - 8th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS section 122(3) of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, Chap. 1:01 (“the Act”) provides that the President shall, after consultation with the Prime Minister and Leader of the Opposition nominate persons, who are qualified and experienced in the disciplines of law, finance, sociology or management, to be appointed as members of the Police Service Commission;

AND WHEREAS section 122(4) of the Act provides that the President shall issue a Notification in respect of each person nominated for appointment under subsection (3) and the Notification shall be subject to affirmative resolution of the House of Representatives;

AND WHEREAS the President has nominated Mr. Christopher Thomas to be appointed as a member of the Police Service Commission with effect from the 1st day of July, 2007;

AND WHEREAS the President has on the 6th day of June, 2007 made a Notification in respect of the nomination;

AND WHEREAS it is expedient to approve the Notification:

BE IT RESOLVED that the Notification of the nomination of Mr. Christopher Thomas be approved.

(By the Minister of National Security)

22 Jun 2007
House DebateHansard
12 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator the Honourable Martin Joseph [Minister of National Security]
2.The Honourable Kamla Persad-Bissessar SC [Siparia] [Leader of the Opposition]
3.The Honourable Winston Dookeran [St. Augustine] [Opposition Member (COP)]
4.Senator the Honourable Subhas Panday [Princes Town] [Opposition Member]
5. Dr. Roodal Moonilal [Oropouche] [Opposition Member]
6.Mr. Kelvin Ramnath [Couva South] [Opposition Member]
7.The Honourable Kenneth Valley [Diego Martin Central] [Minister of Trade and Industry and Minister in the Ministry of Finance]
8.Mr. Chandresh Sharma [Fyzabad] [Opposition Member]
9. Dr. Hamza Rafeeq [Caroni Central] [Opposition Chief Whip]
10.Senator Dr. Adesh Nanan [Tabaquite] [Opposition Member]
11.Mr. Harry Partap [Nariva] [Opposition Member]
12.Senator the Honourable Martin Joseph [Minister of National Security]