4th Session of the 11th Republican Parliament

The Whistleblower Protection Bill, 2018

An Act to combat corruption and other wrongdoings by encouraging and facilitating disclosures of improper conduct in the public and private sector, to protect persons making those disclosures from detrimental action, to regulate the receiving, investigating or otherwise dealing with disclosures of improper conduct and to provide for other matters connected therewith

Brought forward from the 3rd Session.
View the Bill Essentials here.

Introduced By:
Faris Al-Rawi
Bill No:
House of Representatives Bill 8 of 2018
Introduced On:
Published In Gazette On
09-Apr-2018, Vol. 57, No. 46
House of Representatives - Bill Defeated


9 Apr 2018
House of Representatives
Gazetted Bill
Brought forward from the 3rd Session
1 speakersShow Speakers
1.Hon. Faris Al-Rawi, MP [San Fernando West] [Attorney General]
1 May 2019
2nd Reading of the Bill Hansard
11 speakersShow Speakers
1.Hon. Faris Al-Rawi, MP [San Fernando West] [Attorney General]
2. Dr. Roodal Moonilal, MP [Oropouche East] [Opposition Member]
3.Hon. Dr. Keith Rowley, MP [Diego Martin West] [Prime Minister]
4.Mr. Prakash Ramadhar, MP [St. Augustine] [Opposition Member]
5.Hon. Terrence Deyalsingh, MP [St. Joseph] [Minister of Health]
6. Dr. Surujrattan Rambachan, MP [Tabaquite] [Opposition Member]
7.Hon. Dr. Lovell Francis, MP [Moruga/Tableland] [Minister of State in the Ministry of Education]
8. Dr. Bhoendradatt Tewarie, MP [Caroni Central] [Opposition Member]
9.Hon. Maj. Gen. Edmund Dillon, MP [Point Fortin] [Minister of Housing and Urban Development]
10. Dr. Fuad Khan, MP [Barataria/San Juan] [Opposition Member]
11. Dr. Tim Gopeesingh, MP [Caroni East] [Opposition Member]
6 May 2019
2nd Reading of the Bill Hansard
9 speakersShow Speakers
1.Hon. Fitzgerald Hinds, MP [Laventille West] [Minister in the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs]
2.Mr. Ganga Singh, MP [Chaguanas West] [Opposition Member]
3.Mr. Maxie Cuffie, MP [La Horquetta/Talparo] [Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Public Administration]
4.Mr. Rodney Charles, MP [Naparima] [Opposition Member]
5.Mr. Rudranath Indarsingh, MP [Couva South] [Opposition Member]
6.Mr. David Lee, MP [Pointe-a-Pierre] [Opposition Member]
7.Hon. Kamla Persad-Bissessar, SC, MP [Siparia] [Leader of the Opposition]
8.Hon. Stuart Young, MP [Port-of-Spain North/St. Ann’s West] [Minister of National Security, Minister of Communications and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister]
9.Hon. Faris Al-Rawi, MP [San Fernando West] [Attorney General]
6 May 2019
Committee Stage Hansard
Approved without amendments
6 May 2019
Bill Defeated Hansard
22 voted for, 16 voted against
blog comments powered by Disqus