Members of Parliament

73Total Members
48 Male
25 Female

Members of the House

42Total Members

30 Male

Members of the Senate

31Total Members

18 Male
13 Female

President of the Republic

On Monday 19th March, 2018, Ms. Paula-Mae Weekes took the oath as the Sixth President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, at an Inauguration Ceremony at the Queen’s Park Savannah, Port-of-Spain. Two months earlier on January 19, 2018, the Electoral College of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago elected Ms. Weekes as the Sixth President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. Ms. Weekes is this country’s first female President.

The Prime Minister

Where there is occasion for the appointment of a Prime Minister under Section 76 (1) of the Constitution, such as after a General Election, the President must appoint as Prime Minister a Member of the House of Representatives who is the leader in the House of the party which commands the support of the majority of members of that House.

President of the Senate

Ms. Christine Kangaloo was elected to the office of President of the Senate on September 23, 2015, at the start of the 11th Republican Parliament. Ms. Kangaloo is an alumna of the University of the West Indies and the Hugh Wooding Law School. She is an Attorney-at-law by profession, having been admitted into practice in the year 1985, and was attached to the southern legal team of Hobsons.

Speaker of the House

Mrs. Bridgid Annisette-George first entered Parliament as a Senator and Attorney General on November 8, 2007 and thus became the third woman to hold this post in the history of Trinidad and Tobago, following Mrs. Kamla Persad-Bissessar and Mrs. Glenda Morean-Phillip. She was elected Speaker of the House of the 11th Parliament on September 23, 2015.

The Leader of the Opposition

The Constitution provides for a Leader of the Opposition who is appointed by the President. That person is a member of the House of Representatives and who in his judgement is best able to command the support of the greatest number of Members of the House of Representatives who do not support the Government.

The Ombudsman

Mr. Rajmanlal Joseph was appointed the fifth (5th) Ombudsman of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago by Her Excellency Paula Mae-Weeks, ORTT, President and Commander-in-Chief of the Republic Trinidad and Tobago for a period of three (3) years with effect from May 19, 2021.