House of Representatives


Elections and Boundaries Commission (Public Commission of Enquiry)

House of Representatives - 1st Session - 6th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS under the Constitution, the people of Trinidad and Tobago have asserted their belief in a democratic society; and

WHEREAS the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) and an accurate and acceptable Voters List are essential ingredients of the democratic system required for the conduct of free and fair elections; and

WHEREAS, following the recent elections, there is considerable disquiet and anxiety in the country with respect to the role of the EBC and the state of the Voters List which was utilised during the General Elections of December 11th 2000:

BE IT RESOLVED that this Honourable House call on the relevant authorities to take steps to review by way of a Public Commission of Enquiry, all the actions of the EBC in the preparation of the Preliminary and Final Voters Lists which were used on December 11th 2000:

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this House agree that the Government provide, through supplementary allocation, all the necessary financial and other resources to effect an immediate, comprehensive, nationwide voter registration exercise, inclusive of a new voter identification system:

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this exercise be completed in the shortest possible time with a view to having improved procedures and a revised Voters List available well before any other national election becomes due in Trinidad and Tobago.

(By the Member for Diego Martin West)

2 Feb 2001
House Debate - Day 1Hansard
3 speakersShow Speakers
1.The Honourable Dr. Keith Rowley [Diego Martin West] [Opposition Member]
2.Senator Mervyn Assam [Tunapuna] [Minister of Enterprise Development, Foreign Affairs and Tourism]
3.The Honourable Colm Imbert [Diego Martin East] [Opposition Member]
23 Mar 2001
House Debate - Day 2Hansard
4 speakersShow Speakers
1.The Honourable Colm Imbert [Diego Martin East] [Opposition Member]
2.Mr. Carlos John [St. Joseph] [Minister of Infrastructure Development and Local Government]
3.Mr. Nathaniel Moore [Tobago East] [Opposition Member]
4.The Honourable Kenneth Valley [Diego Martin Central] [Opposition Chief Whip]
25 May 2001
House Debate - Day 3Hansard
1 speakersShow Speakers
1. Dr. Fuad Khan [Barataria/San Juan] [Minister in the Ministry of Health]
28 Sep 2001
House Debate - Day 4Hansard
4 speakersShow Speakers
1.The Honourable Winston Peters [Ortoire/Mayaro] [Minister in the Ministry of Human Development, Youth and Culture]
2.The Honourable Fitzgerald Hinds [Laventille East/Morvant] [Opposition Member]
3.Senator Sadiq Baksh [San Fernando West] [Minister of Housing and Settlements]
4.Mr. Basdeo Panday [Couva North] [Prime Minister and Minister of National Security]