Amend the Legislative Retirement Allowances Act

Senate - 2nd Session - 11th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS Trinidad and Tobago is a signatory since 1970 to the 1958 ILO Convention C111, on discrimination in respect of Employment and Occupation;

AND WHEREAS the principle of the elimination of all forms of discrimination in the workplace is an established policy position of the Government of Trinidad and Tobago;

AND WHEREAS Senators without portfolio in the Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago, perform all the functions of legislators in discharging their Parliamentary obligations;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislative Retirement Allowances Act Chapter 2.03, be amended to include all Senators within the definition of legislators;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Senate call upon the Government to present the required legislative amendment to the Parliament before the end of the Second Session (2016-2017).

(By Senator Dr. Dhanayshar Mahabir)

31 Jan 2017
Senate Debate Day 1Hansard
8 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Dr. Dhanayshar Mahabir [Independent Senator]
2.Senator the Honourable Clarence Rambharat [Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries]
3.Senator Raphael Cumberbatch [Opposition Senator (Temporary)]
4.Senator Wayne Sturge [Opposition Senator]
5.Senator David Small [Independent Senator]
6.Ms. Khadijah Ameen [Opposition Senator]
7.Senator Melissa Ramkissoon [Independent Senator]
8.Senator the Honourable Jennifer Baptiste-Primus [Minister of Labour and Small Enterprise Development]
14 Feb 2017
Senate Debate Day 2Hansard
6 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Sophia Chote SC [Independent Senator]
2.Senator the Honourable Paula Gopee-Scoon [Minister of Trade and Industry]
3.Senator H.R. Ian Roach [Independent Senator]
4.The Honourable Foster Cummings [Government Senator]
5.Senator Stephen Creese [Independent Senator]
6.Senator Dr. Dhanayshar Mahabir [Independent Senator]