Consider United Nations Agenda 2030 Sustainable Development Goals

Senate - 1st Session - 11th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS Agenda 2030 and attendant Sustainable Development Goals adopted by the United Nations on 25 September 2015 will drive global efforts to end poverty and place the planet on a sustainable course over the next fifteen years;

WHEREAS the SDGs constitute an interlinked framework fusing together economic, social and environmental dimensions of sustainable development, including provisions to mobilize the resources required to support implementation;

WHEREAS the government of Trinidad and Tobago as a member of the United Nations has committed to this new global agenda on behalf of our people;

WHEREAS the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago will need to translate the global SDGs into a national plan for sustainable development with its own country-specific goals and time bound targets;

WHEREAS the Declaration of the 4th World Conference of Speakers of Parliament adopted on 2 September 2015 provides further guidance to parliaments on the implementation of the new global agenda;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago:

  • 1. take stock of Agenda 2030 and attendant Sustainable Development Goals as well as the Declaration of the World Speakers Conference as the main reference point on all policies for sustainable development;
  • 2. commit to help implement this new framework through all acts of legislation, including the budget; and
  • 3. request that the Government table a report on the implementation of the national strategy for the SDGs for a thorough review by Parliament.

(By Senator Wade Mark)

24 Nov 2015
Senate Debate Day 1Hansard
6 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
2.Senator the Honourable Franklin Khan [Minister of Rural Development and Local Government]
3.Senator David Small [Independent Senator]
4.Ms. Khadijah Ameen [Opposition Senator]
5.Senator the Honourable Paula Gopee-Scoon [Minister of Trade and Industry]
6.Senator Dr. Dhanayshar Mahabir [Independent Senator]
26 Jan 2016
Senate Debate Day 2Hansard
8 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Dr. Dhanayshar Mahabir [Independent Senator]
2.Senator Gerald Hadeed [Opposition Senator]
3.The Honourable Foster Cummings [Government Senator]
4.Senator Melissa Ramkissoon [Independent Senator]
5.Senator Wayne Sturge [Opposition Senator]
6.Senator the Honourable Nigel de Freitas [Vice-President of the Senate]
7.Senator Jennifer Raffoul [Independent Senator]
8.Senator Allyson Baksh [Government Senator]
23 Feb 2016
Senate Debate Day 3Hansard
6 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Daniel Dookie [Government Senator]
2.Senator Rodger Samuel [Opposition Senator]
3.Senator Taurel Shrikissoon [Independent Senator]
4.Senator Nadine Stewart [Government Senator]
5.Senator the Honourable Dennis Moses [Minister of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs and Minister in the Ministry of National Security]
6.Senator Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]