7th Sitting of the Senate

3rd Session - 12th Republican Parliament

Tuesday 29 November, 2022
1:30 PM
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Leave of absence

Leave of absence was granted to Sen. the Hon. Dr. Amery Browne, Sen. the Hon. Paula Gopee-Scoon, Sen. Wade Mark and Sen. Damien Lyder, who are out of the country and to Sen. Maria Dillon-Remy, who is ill. Mr. Ndale Young, Mr. Michael Seales, Mr. Dominic Smith, Dr. Tim Gopeesingh and Mr. Josh Drayton were appointed temporary Senators in their place.

Sen. the Hon. Christine Kangaloo [President of the Senate]
Oath Of Allegiance Of A New Member
Temporary Senators

Temporary Senators, Mr. Ndale Young, Mr. Michael Seales, Mr. Dominic Smith, Dr. Tim Gopeesingh and Mr. Josh Drayton took the oath of allegiance.

Sen. Ndale Young [Government Senator (Temporary)]
Sen. Michael Seales [Government Senator (Temporary)]
Sen. Dr. Tim Gopeesingh [Opposition Senator (Temporary)]
Sen. Josh Drayton [Independent Senator (Temporary)]
Sen. Dominic Smith [Opposition Senator (Temporary)]
Fourteen Papers

Fourteen papers were laid. See Order Paper for details.

Sen. the Hon. Randall Mitchell [Minister of Tourism, Culture and the Arts]
Presentation Of Reports From Select Committees
Four Reports

Four Reports were presented. See Order Paper.

Sen. Jearlean John [Opposition Senator]
Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
Three Questions on Notice

Three questions qualified for oral answer. All questions were answered.

Sen. Jearlean John [Opposition Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Reginald Armour SC [Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs]
Hon. Marvin Gonzales, MP [Minister of Public Utilities]
Private Business: Motions
The Government's Management of the COVID-19 Pandemic

Opposition Senator David Nakhid moved a private motion re the Government’s management of the COVID-19 pandemic. Three Members made contributions before debate was suspended.

Sen. David Nakhid [Opposition Senator]
Hon. Terrence Deyalsingh, MP [Minister of Health]
Sen. Dr. Varma Deyalsingh [Independent Senator]
Sen. Dr. Tim Gopeesingh [Opposition Senator (Temporary)]
The Senate adjourned to a date to be fixed

The Sitting ended at 4:16 p.m.