House of Representatives


Petrotrin’s South West Soldado Project

House of Representatives - 5th Session - 10th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS the 2011 State Enterprises Performance Monitoring Manual effected by the Government calls for strict monitoring of state agencies by monitoring agents which include in the case of Petrotrin, the Minister of Finance as corporate sole and the Minister of Energy and Energy Affairs and the Chairman and Board of Directors and the President;

AND WHEREAS recent allegations of impropriety with Petrotrin?s South West Soldado Project involving the illegal advance payment of US $1.25 million which was not in accordance with the terms and conditions of the contract;

AND WHEREAS on failure of the contract there was a transfer of US $750,000 into two private bank accounts at Scotiabank, Maraval;

AND WHEREAS the matter was raised in the budget debate of September 2013, evoking no response by the Minister of Energy and Energy Affairs;

AND WHEREAS a contract of approximately US $50 million could only be approved by the Chairman and Board of Directors;

AND WHEREAS several Board Members voiced their concerns to the award of the contract;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Government immediately order an investigation into this contractual arrangement;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the matter of the misdirected state funds into private bank accounts be immediately brought to the attention of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service for investigation;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the current Chairman and Board Members be suspended from office pending the outcome of the investigation of the failed South West Soldado Project;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this matter be referred to the Joint Select Committee on Energy Affairs for investigation and report.

22 May 2015
House Debate
6 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator the Honourable Paula Gopee-Scoon [Point Fortin] [Opposition Member]
2.Senator the Honourable Kevin Ramnarine [Minister of Energy and Energy Affairs]
3.The Honourable Terrence Deyalsingh [St. Joseph] [Opposition Member]
4.The Honourable Errol Mc Leod [Pointe-a-Pierre] [Minister of Labour and Small and Micro Enterprise Development]
5.The Honourable Colm Imbert [Diego Martin North/East] [Opposition Member]
6. Dr. Roodal Moonilal [Oropouche East] [Minister of Housing and Urban Development]