House of Representatives


Failure to prevent surge in criminal activity

House of Representatives - 2nd Session - 12th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS the Government has been unable to effectively prevent a surge in criminal activity resulting in rapid increases in murders, robberies and home invasions;

AND WHEREAS the Government has failed to set and operationalise a forceful and functional crime reduction plan with SMART (specific, measurable, attainable, relevant and time bound) goals to curb the growing murder rate;

AND WHEREAS the Government has consistently ignored and, through their incompetence, added to the fundamental causes of crime, while focusing on punitive measures instead of preventative measures;

AND WHEREAS the failure to effectively address crime has created social, political, economic and cultural crises of immeasurable proportions:

BE IT RESOLVED that this House reprimand this Government for its failure to effectively prevent the surge in criminal activity in our country.

(By the Member for Naparima)

Private Motion by the Member for Naparima

25 Mar 2022
House Debate - Day 1Hansard
6 speakersShow Speakers
1.Mr. Rodney Charles [Naparima] [Opposition Member]
2.The Honourable Fitzgerald Hinds [Laventille West] [Minister of National Security]
3.The Honourable Kamla Persad-Bissessar SC [Siparia] [Leader of the Opposition]
4.Mr. Dinesh Rambally [Chaguanas West] [Opposition Member]
5.The Honourable Foster Cummings [La Horquetta/Talparo] [Minister of Youth Development and National Service]
6.Mrs. Anita Haynes-Alleyne [Tabaquite] [Opposition Member]
24 Jun 2022
House Debate - Day 2Hansard
8 speakersShow Speakers
1.Mrs. Anita Haynes-Alleyne [Tabaquite] [Opposition Member]
2.The Honourable Dr. Nyan Gadsby-Dolly [St. Ann’s East] [Minister of Education]
3.Ms. Khadijah Ameen [St. Augustine] [Opposition Member]
4.The Honourable Faris Al-Rawi SC [San Fernando West] [Minister of Rural Development and Local Government]
5.Mr. Saddam Hosein [Barataria/San Juan] [Opposition Member]
6.The Honourable Marvin Gonzales [Lopinot/Bon Air West] [Minister of Public Utilities]
7. Dr. Lackram Bodoe [Fyzabad] [Opposition Member]
8.The Honourable Pennelope Beckles-Robinson [Arima] [Minister of Planning and Development]