Establish JSC – Legislative Formula for Parliamentary Autonomy

Senate - 3rd Session - 11th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS financial and administrative autonomy of Parliament is an undisputed benchmark of a true democracy;

AND WHEREAS a legislative proposal entitled the Houses of Parliament Service Authority Bill, 2014 was laid in Parliament and referred to a Joint Select Committee in 2014;

AND WHEREAS the Joint Select Committee agreed that parliamentary autonomy is essential to the recalibration of the existing relationship between the Executive and the Legislature;

AND WHEREAS the Government, in adopting the 2015 Manifesto of the People?s National Movement as its official policy framework, confirmed its commitment to the principles of parliamentary autonomy;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate call on the Government to introduce legislation by April 30, 2018 to give effect to parliamentary autonomy and that this legislation be immediately referred to a Joint Select Committee of Parliament for early consideration and report.

(By Senator Wade Mark)

6 Mar 2018
Senate Debate - Day 1Hansard
6 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
2.Senator the Honourable Jennifer Baptiste-Primus [Minister of Labour and Small Enterprise Development]
3.Senator David Small [Independent Senator]
4.Ms. Khadijah Ameen [Opposition Senator]
5.Senator Daniel Dookie [Government Senator]
6.Mrs. Anita Haynes-Alleyne [Opposition Senator]
27 Mar 2018
Senate Debate - Day 2Hansard
8 speakersShow Speakers
1.Mrs. Anita Haynes-Alleyne [Opposition Senator]
2.Senator Dr. Dhanayshar Mahabir [Independent Senator]
3.Senator the Honourable Nigel de Freitas [Vice-President of the Senate]
4.Mr. Saddam Hosein [Opposition Senator]
5.Senator Melissa Ramkissoon [Independent Senator]
6.Senator Ronald Huggins [Government Senator]
7.Senator Clive Dottin [Independent Senator (Temporary)]
8.Senator Taharqa Obika [Opposition Senator]
24 Apr 2018
Senate Debate Day 3Hansard
The motion was amended.
6 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Taharqa Obika [Opposition Senator]
2.Senator the Honourable Clarence Rambharat [Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries]
3.Senator Gerald Ramdeen [Opposition Senator]
4.Senator H.R. Ian Roach [Independent Senator]
5.Senator Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
6.Senator the Honourable Franklin Khan [Minister of Energy and Energy Industries]