House of Representatives


Censure the Speaker for her failure to act properly and impartially in the exercise of her office

House of Representatives - 5th Session - 11th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS pursuant to Standing Order 17, the Member for Oropouche East (the Member) sought leave on April 27, 2020 to move the adjournment of the House for the purpose of discussing a Definite Matter of Urgent Public Importance;

AND WHEREAS the matter sought to be raised concerned an alleged sale of fuel to Venezuela involving Paria Fuel Trading Company Limited, allegedly in contravention of international sanctions;

AND WHEREAS the Speaker, in ruling that the matter did not qualify under Standing Order 17, failed to declare a possible conflict of interest;

AND WHEREAS on May 8, 2020, in the aftermath of this ruling the Speaker, under "Announcements”, rebuked and condemned the Member in the House, for reporting elsewhere on this matter;

AND WHEREAS the Speaker committed a breach of the established rules of conduct and conventions of this House;

AND WHEREAS the Speaker brought the high and noble Office of the Speaker into disrepute;

BE IT RESOLVED that this House censures the Speaker for her failure to act properly and impartially in the exercise of her office.

(By the Member for Oropouche East)

26 Jun 2020
House Debate - Day 1Hansard
14 votes for, 17 votes against, 0 abstentions
Motion not approved
12 speakersShow Speakers
1. Dr. Roodal Moonilal [Oropouche East] [Opposition Member]
2.The Honourable Dr. Keith Rowley [Diego Martin West] [Prime Minister]
3.Mr. David Lee [Pointe-a-Pierre] [Opposition Member]
4.The Honourable Fitzgerald Hinds [Laventille West] [Minister of Public Utilities and Minister in the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs]
5.Mr. Rodney Charles [Naparima] [Opposition Member]
6.The Honourable Stuart Young [Port-of-Spain North/St. Ann’s West] [Minister of National Security and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister]
7.Senator Dr. Tim Gopeesingh [Caroni East] [Opposition Member]
8.The Honourable Colm Imbert [Diego Martin North/East] [Minister of Finance]
9.The Honourable Dr. Nyan Gadsby-Dolly [St. Ann’s East] [Minister of Community Development, Culture and the Arts]
10.Mr. Prakash Ramadhar [St. Augustine] [Opposition Member]
11.The Honourable Anthony Garcia [Arima] [Minister of Education]
12. Dr. Roodal Moonilal [Oropouche East] [Opposition Member]