8th Sitting of the Senate

3rd Session - 12th Republican Parliament

Tuesday 13 December, 2022
10:00 AM
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Leave of absence

Leave of absence was granted to Sen. the Hon. Dr, Amery Browne and Sen. Laurel Lezama Lee-Sing, who are out of the country, and to Sen. Anil Roberts, who is ill and to Sen. Hazel Thompson-Ahye. Mr. Harvey Borris, Ms. Yokymma Bethelmy and Mr. Eli Zakour were appointed temporary Senators in place of Sen. the Hon. Dr. Amery Browne, Sen. Laurel Lezama Lee-Sing and Sen. Anil Roberts.

Sen. the Hon. Christine Kangaloo [President of the Senate]
Oath Of Allegiance Of A New Member
Temporary Senators

Temporary Senators Harvey Borris, Yokymma Bethelmy and Eli Zakour took the oath of allegiance.

Sen. Harvey Borris [Government Senator (Temporary)]
Sen. Yokymma Bethelmy [Government Senator (Temporary)]
Sen. Eli Zakour [Opposition Senator (Temporary)]
Bills Brought From The House Of Representatives
The Finance (No. 2) Bill, 2022

The Finance (No. 2) Bill, 2022 was brought from the House of Representatives in the name of the Minister of Finance, who moved that the next stage of the Bill be taken later in the proceedings. The motion was approved.

Two Papers

Two papers were laid. See Order Paper for details.

Sen. the Hon. Paula Gopee-Scoon [Minister of Trade and Industry]
Presentation Of Reports From Select Committees
Three Reports

Three reports were presented. See Order Paper.

Sen. Deoroop Teemal [Independent Senator]
Sen. Dr. Muhammad Yunus Ibrahim [Vice-President of the Senate]
Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
Three Questions on Notice

Three questions qualified for oral answer.  All questions were answered. See Order Paper.

Sen. Jearlean John [Opposition Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Paula Gopee-Scoon [Minister of Trade and Industry]
Hon. Dr. Nyan Gadsby-Dolly, MP [Minister of Education]
Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The Finance (No. 2) Bill, 2022

The Minister of Finance, Hon. Colm Imbert, MP, moved the second reading of The Finance (No. 2) Bill, 2022. Eight persons made contributions, including the maiden contribution of Sen. Dominic Smith, before the Minister of Finance rose to wind up the debate. The Bill was not committed to a Committee of the Whole, and was then read a third time and passed.

Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Minister of Finance]
Sen. Damian Lyder [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Charrise Seepersad [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Allyson West [Minister of Public Administration]
Sen. Jayanti Lutchmedial-Ramdial [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Dr. Varma Deyalsingh [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Paula Gopee-Scoon [Minister of Trade and Industry]
Sen. Dominic Smith [Opposition Senator (Temporary)]
Hon. Brian Manning, MP [Minister in the Ministry of Finance]
Matter On The Adjournment
Beverage Containers Bill

Senator Jayanti Lutchmedial moved as a matter on the Motion for the adjournment of the House, the need for the Government to mitigate against the harmful effects of plastics on the environment by introducing into the Parliament a Beverage Containers Bill. The Minister of Public Utilities responded.

Sen. Jayanti Lutchmedial-Ramdial [Opposition Senator]
Hon. Marvin Gonzales, MP [Minister of Public Utilities]
The Senate adjourns to Friday December 16, 2022 at 10 a.m.

At the next Sitting, debate is expected on the Scrap Metal Bill, 2022. The Sitting ended at 4:08 p.m.