6th Sitting of the Senate

2nd Session - 12th Republican Parliament

Wednesday 20 October, 2021
1:00 PM
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Leave of absence

Leave of absence was granted to Sen. Evans Welch and Sen. the Hon. Avinash Singh.

Sen. the Hon. Christine Kangaloo [President of the Senate]
Two Papers

Two papers were laid. See Order Paper for details.

Sen. the Hon. Clarence Rambharat [Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries]
Oath Of Allegiance Of A New Member
Temporary Senator

Temporary Government Senator Ndale Young took the oath of allegiance.

Sen. Ndale Young [Government Senator (Temporary)]
Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The Appropriation (Financial Year 2022) Bill, 2021

Debate resumed on the the Appropriation (Financial Year 2022) Bill, 2021. Following contributions by eight Senators, the Minister of Finance wrapped up the debate. The bill was not committed to a Committee of the Whole Senate. With 21 votes for, 0 votes against and 5 abstentions, the bill was read a third time and passed.

Sen. the Hon. Randall Mitchell [Minister of Tourism, Culture and the Arts]
Sen. Jayanti Lutchmedial-Ramdial [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Deoroop Teemal [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Dr. Amery Browne [Minister of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs]
Sen. Jearlean John [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Laurel Lezama-Lee Sing [Government Senator]
Sen. David Nakhid [Opposition Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Clarence Rambharat [Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries]
Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Minister of Finance]
The Senate adjourned to a date to be fixed

The Sitting concluded at 6:52 p.m.