5th Sitting of the Senate

2nd Session - 12th Republican Parliament

Tuesday 19 October, 2021
10:00 AM
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Leave of Absence

Dr. Tim Gopeesingh was appointed to temporarily replace Sen. Damian Lyder who was ill.

Two Papers

There are two Papers to be laid. See the Order Paper.

Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The Appropriation (Financial Year - 2022) Bill, 2021

The budget debate resumed with Sen. Anil Roberts being first to contribute, followed by the Minister of Public Utilities. 11 additional Senators contributed to the debate. The debate will continue on Wednesday October 20, 2021 at 1:00 p.m.

Sen. Anil Roberts [Opposition Senator]
Hon. Marvin Gonzales, MP [Minister of Public Utilities]
Sen. Hazel Thompson-Ahye [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Donna Cox [Minister of Social Development and Family Services]
Sen. Yokymma Bethelmy [Government Senator (Temporary)]
Sen. Dr. Tim Gopeesingh [Opposition Senator (Temporary)]
Sen. Dr. Muhammad Yunus Ibrahim [Vice-President of the Senate]
Sen. Dr. Paul Richards [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Renuka Sagramsingh-Sooklal [Minister in the Office of the Attorney General and Ministry of Legal Affairs]
Sen. the Hon. Hassel Bacchus [Minister of Digital Transformation]
Sen. Dr. Varma Deyalsingh [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Allyson West [Minister of Public Administration]
Sen. Evans Welch [Independent Senator]
The Senate adjourned to Wednesday October 20, 2021 at 1:00 p.m.

The Sitting concluded at 6:34 p.m.