4th Sitting of the Senate

3rd Session - 12th Republican Parliament

Friday 14 October, 2022
10:00 AM
Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The Appropriation (Financial Year 2023) Bill, 2022

Debate resumed on The Appropriation (Financial Year 2023) Bill, 2022. Nine senators made their contributions to the debate before the wind up by the Minister of Finance, Hon. Colm Imbert, MP. The bill was not committed to a Committee of the Whole Senate. With 23 votes for, 6 votes against and no abstentions, the bill was read a third time and passed.

Sen. the Hon. Randall Mitchell [Minister of Tourism, Culture and the Arts]
Sen. Damian Lyder [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Evans Welch [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Paula Gopee-Scoon [Minister of Trade and Industry]
Sen. Hazel Thompson-Ahye [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Dr. Amery Browne [Minister of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs]
Sen. Anil Roberts [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Deoroop Teemal [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Reginald Armour SC [Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs]
Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Minister of Finance]
The Senate adjourned to a date to be fixed

The Senate brought greetings to the members of the Hindu community, and by extension, to the people of Trinidad and Tobago on the upcoming celebration of Divali. The Sitting concluded at 5:09 p.m.

Sen. the Hon. Renuka Sagramsingh-Sooklal [Minister in the Office of the Attorney General and Ministry of Legal Affairs]
Sen. Jayanti Lutchmedial-Ramdial [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Dr. Varma Deyalsingh [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Christine Kangaloo [President of the Senate]