House of Representatives


34th Sitting of the House of Representatives

2nd Session - 12th Republican Parliament

Wednesday 22 June, 2022
1:30 PM
Announcements By The Speaker/Deputy Speaker
Leave of Absence; Change in Membership of Joint Select Committees

The Speaker granted Leave of Absence to the Members of Parliament for Mayaro and Chaguanas West. The Speaker then read a letter from the President of the Senate indicating the changes in Senate membership to several Joint Select Committees.

Hon. Bridgid Annisette-George [Speaker of the House]
Five Papers

Five papers were laid. See Order Paper for details.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
One Urgent Question

One Urgent Question qualified for oral answer and was answered. See the Order Paper.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
Seven Questions on Notice

Seven Questions on Notice qualify for oral answer. Questions 199 and 201 were withdrawn. See the Order Paper.

Statements By Ministers
Stage of Progress in Proclamation of Public Procurement and Disposal of Public Property Legislation and Supporting Regulations

The Attorney General made a statement in the House of Representatives on the stage of progress in the proclamation of the Public Procurement and Disposal of Public Property legislation and supporting regulations.

Sen. the Hon. Reginald Armour SC [Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs]
Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The National Insurance (Amendment) Bill, 2022

The Minister of Finance, Hon. Colm Imbert, MP, moved the second reading of The National Insurance (Amendment) Bill, 2022. Debate began on the bill with six contributions being made before the Minister of Finance rose to wind up. The Bill was then considered by a Committee of the Whole and approved without amendment. The Bill was then read a third time and passed. A division was taken at third reading, the result of which was 18 for, none against and 12 abstentions.

Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Minister of Finance]
Mr. Davendranath Tancoo, MP [Opposition Member]
Sen. the Hon. Reginald Armour SC [Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs]
Mr. Rudranath Indarsingh, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Stuart Young, MP [Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister]
Mr. David Lee, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Faris Al-Rawi, MP [Minister of Rural Development and Local Government]
The House adjourns to Friday June 24, 2022 at 1:30 p.m.

Private Business will take precedence at the next Sitting. The Sitting ended at 5:43 p.m.