33rd Sitting of the Senate

2nd Session - 11th Republican Parliament

Thursday 6 July, 2017
2:30 PM
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Leave of absence

Leave of absence was granted to Sen. Melissa Ramkissoon who is out of the country and Sen. H.R. Ian Roach and Sen. Sophia Chote, S.C., who are both ill, from today’s Sitting. Mr. Nikoli Edwards, Mr. John Heath and Mr. Albert Sydney were appointed temporary Senators in their absence.

Oath Of Allegiance Of A New Member
Temporary Senators

Temporary Senators, Mr. Nikoli Edwards, Mr. John Heath and Mr. Albert Sydney took their oaths of allegiance.

Twelve Papers

Twelve Papers were laid in the names of the Minister of Finance, Minister of Planning and Development, Minister of Community Development, Culture and the Arts, Minister of Public Utilities, Attorney General, Prime Minister, Minister of Public Administration and Communications, Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs and the Vice-President of the Senate. See Order Paper for details.

Presentation Of Reports From Select Committees
One Report

One report was presented. See Order Paper for details.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
Four urgent questions

Four urgent questions were posed. Three questions were answered, before the time for urgent questions expired. See Order Paper for details.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
Two questions

Two questions qualified for oral answer. Question #95 was deferred to the next Sitting. See Order Paper for details.

Requests For Leave To Move The Adjournment Of The House On Definite Matters Of Urgent Public Importance
One Matter

Sen. Wade Mark requested leave to move the adjournment of the House on a definite matter of urgent public importance namely the failure of the Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries in overseeing the management of PETROTRIN. The President of the Senate was not satisfied that this matter qualified under this Standing Order.

Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The Bail (Access to Bail) (Amendment) Bill, 2017

Debate resumed on The Bail (Access to Bail) (Amendment) Bill, 2017. The Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries was first to contribute, followed by Sen. Daniel Solomon, Sen. Stephen Creese, Sen. Rodger Samuel, Sen. Paul Richards, Sen. W. Michael Coppin, Sen. Nikoli Edwards and Sen. John Heath. The Attorney General wound up the debate on the Bill. The Bill was then committed to the Committee of the Whole to be considered clause by clause. The Bill was read a third time and passed with amendments.

Matter On The Adjournment
One Matter

Senator Wade Mark raised a matter on the adjournment on the nomination process for bids Round 2017 re PETROTRIN. The Minister of Energy and Energy Industries responded.

The Senate adjourned sine die

The Sitting concluded at 10:21 p.m. The Senate adjourned sine die.