26th Sitting of the Senate

1st Session - 12th Republican Parliament

Tuesday 15 June, 2021
10:00 AM
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Leave of absence

Leave of absence was granted to Sen. Anil Roberts, who is ill and to Sen. Evans Welch. Ms. Renuka Rambhajan was appointed temporary Senator in place of Sen. Roberts.

Sen. the Hon. Christine Kangaloo [President of the Senate]
Oath Of Allegiance Of A New Member
Temporary Senator

Ms. Rambhajan took the oath of allegiance.

Sen. Renuka Rambhajan [Opposition Senator (Temporary)]
Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
Four urgent questions

Four urgent questions were posed.

Sen. Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
Hon. Terrence Deyalsingh, MP [Minister of Health]
Hon. Faris Al-Rawi SC, MP [Minister of Rural Development and Local Government]
Sen. the Hon. Donna Cox [Minister of Social Development and Family Services]
Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
Three Questions on Notice

Three questions qualified for oral answer.

Sen. Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Randall Mitchell [Minister of Tourism, Culture and the Arts]
Sen. the Hon. Paula Gopee-Scoon [Minister of Trade and Industry]
Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The Sexual Offences (Amendment) Bill, 2021

The Attorney General, Hon. Faris Al-Rawi, MP, moved the second reading of the Sexual Offences (Amendment) Bill, 2021. Debate began on the bill. Following the debate, the bill was committed to a Committee of the Whole for consideration clause by clause. Amendments were made and approved. With 28 votes for, no votes against and no abstentions, the bill was read a third time and passed.

Hon. Faris Al-Rawi SC, MP [Minister of Rural Development and Local Government]
Sen. Jayanti Lutchmedial-Ramdial [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Hazel Thompson-Ahye [Independent Senator]
Sen. Yokymma Bethelmy [Government Senator (Temporary)]
Sen. Charrise Seepersad [Independent Senator]
Sen. Dr. Varma Deyalsingh [Independent Senator]
Sen. Dr. Maria Dillon-Remy [Independent Senator]
Sen. David Nakhid [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Clarence Rambharat [Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries]
Sen. Dr. Paul Richards [Independent Senator]
Sen. Renuka Rambhajan [Opposition Senator (Temporary)]
Sen. the Hon. Renuka Sagramsingh-Sooklal [Minister in the Office of the Attorney General and Ministry of Legal Affairs]
The Senate adjourned to Friday June 18, 2021 at 10:00 a.m.

The Sitting concluded at 5:16 p.m.