22nd Sitting of the Senate

4th Session - 10th Republican Parliament

Tuesday 6 May, 2014
1:30 PM
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Announcements / Leave of Absence

The President of the Senate granted leave of absence to Sen. James Lambert and to Sen. Helen Drayton who are both out of the country. The President of the Senate then read a letter from the President of the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago appointing Mr. Nazeemool Mohammed (Government) and Dr. Kriyaan Singh (Independent) as temporary Senators. They then took the Oath of Allegiance as temporary Senators for today’s sitting.

In accordance with S.O. 64 of the Senate, Dr. Dhanayshar Mahabir replaced Mr. Subhas Ramkhelawan on the Privileges Committee for the Fourth Session (2013/2014) of the Tenth Parliament.

Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Tributes to Dana Seethal, SC

The Senate paid tribute Senior Counsel and former Independent Senator Dana Seetahal who died on May 4, 2014. The Attorney General was the first to make his remarks on behalf of the Government. Sen. Faris Al-Rawi then made his contribution on behalf of the Opposition followed by Sen. Anthony Vieira and Sen. Dr. Rolph Balgobin on behalf of the Independent Bench. The President of the Senate also rose to join Senators in paying tribute to Ms. Seetahal. The Senate then took a minute of silence to pay their respects. The President also noted the passing of former Director of Corporate Communications, Ms. Suzanne Salandy on Sunday May 4th, 2014.

Twenty Papers

Twenty Papers were laid. See the Order Paper and Supplemental Order Paper

Presentation Of Reports From Select Committees
1 Report

The Second Interim Report of the Special Select Committee appointed to consider and report on the Securities (Amendment) Bill, 2013 was laid by the Minister of Finance and the Economy. See the Order Paper and Supplemental Order Paper respectively.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
15 Questions

Questions Nos. 82, 83, 84 and 85 were answered. Questions Nos. 62, 63,64,69, 71,72,73, 86,87, 91,100 and 101 were deferred for 2 weeks. See the Order Paper and Supplemental Order Paper respectively.

Statements By Ministers
New Teak and Pine Policy

Sen. the Hon. Ganga Singh made a statement regarding the new Teak and Pine Policy of the Forestry Division of the Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources