21st Sitting of the Senate

4th Session - 10th Republican Parliament

Tuesday 15 April, 2014
10:00 AM
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Announcements / Leave of Absence

The President granted leave of absence to Senator Shamfa Cudjoe and Sen. Dr. Rolph Balgobin. The Seat of former Senator Subhas Ramkhelawan was declared vacant on April 10, 2014. The President of the Senate then read a letter from the President of the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago appointing Mr. Stuart Young and Dr. Aysha Edwards as temporary Senators. They then took the Oath of Allegiance as temporary Senators for today’s sitting. The President of the Senate then read a second letter from the President of the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago appointing Rev. Joy Evelyn Abdul-Mohan as a Senator.

Four Papers

Four Papers were laid. See the Order Paper and Supplemental Order Paper respectively.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
Three Questions

Three Questions qualify for Oral Answer. See the Order Paper.

Questions To Ministers: Written Answer
Two Questions

Questions 20 and 43 were circulated.

Presentation Of Reports From Select Committees
One Report

The Third Interim Report of the Special Select Committee appointed to consider and report on the Planning and Facilitation of Development Bill, 2013.

Motions Relating To The Business Or Sittings Of The House And Moved By A Minister Or Parliamentary Secretary
One Report

The Minister of Planning and Sustainable Development, Dr. Bhoendradatt Tewarie moved that the Special Select Committee be allowed an extension of four weeks in order to complete its work and submit a final report to the Senate.
The Question was put and Agreed to.

Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The Nurses and Midwives Registration (Amendment) Bill, 2014

Dr. Fuad Khan, MP The Minister of Health moved the Second reading of the Nurses and Midwives Registration (Amendment) Bill, 2014. Sen. Avinash Singh was the first to enter the debate followed by Sen. Helen Drayton, The Minister of Tertiary Education and Skills Training, Sen. Stuart Young, Sen. Dr. Victor Wheeler, Sen. Diane Baldeo-Chadeesingh, Sen. Faris Al-Rawi, Sen. Dr. Dhanayshar Mahabir, Sen. David Small, Sen. Elton Prescott, SC and Sen. Dr. Aysha Edwards. The Minister of Health then rose to respond before debate on the Bill was suspended.

Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Tributes to Arthur Napoleon Raymond Robinson, TC, OCC, SC

The President of the Senate opened the floor for Ministers to pay tribute to former President Arthur Napoleon Raymond Robinson, who passed away on April 9, 2014. Sen. the Hon. Dr. Bhoendradatt Tewarie was the first to make his remarks on behalf of the Government, followed by Sen. Camille Robinson-Regis on behalf of the Opposition, Sen. Dr. Victor Wheeler on behalf of the Independent Bench and the President of the Senate. The Senate then observed one minute silence as a mark of respect to the former President. The President of the Senate then reminded Senators of the availability of the condolence book that was been placed in the Main Lobby of the Parliament for any Member wishing to pay their respects.

Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Easter Greetings

The Members gave Easter Greetings.

The Senate Adjourned to a date to be fixed

The Senate Adjourned to a date to be fixed