18th Sitting of the Senate

4th Session - 10th Republican Parliament

Tuesday 18 March, 2014
1:30 PM
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Leave of Absence/ Appointment of Temp. Senators

The President granted leave of absence to Sen. the Hon. Fazal Karim, Sen. the Hon. Raziah Ahmed, Sen. Camille Robinson-Regis, Sen. Diane Baldeo-Chadeesingh and Sen. Anthony Vieira. The President of the Senate then read a letter from the President of the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago appointing Mr. Nazeemool Mohammed, Archbishop Barbara Burke, Mr. Foster Cummings, Mr. Stuart Young and Dr. Kriyaan Singh as temporary Senators. They then took the Oath of Allegiance as temporary Senators for today’s sitting.

Presentation Of Reports From Select Committees
One Report

One Report was laid by the Minister of Planning and Sustainable Development.

Nine Papers

Nine Papers were laid. See the Order Paper.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
8 Questions

Questions 59, 60 and 61 was answered while questions 88, 89, 90, 99 were deferred for a period of two weeks.

Statements By Ministers
Allegations regarding Privatization of Petrotin

The Minister of Energy made a statement refuting allegations that the Government has plans to privatize Petrotrin.

Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The Dog Control (Amendment) Bill, 2014

The Attorney General moved the second reading of the Dog Control (Amendment) Bill, 2014. Sen. Faris Al-Rawi was the first to enter the debate, followed by Sen. Dr. Kriyaan Singh, Sen. the Hon. Devant Maharaj, Sen. Stuart Young, Sen. Subhas Ramkhelawan, Sen. Avinash Singh, Sen. Victor Wheeler, Sen. Dr. Dhanayshar Mahabir, Sen. David Small, Sen. Hugh Russell Ian Roach, Sen. Shamfa Cudjoe, Sen. Foster Cummings and Sen Rolph Balgobin. The Attorney General then rose to wind up the debate. With a division of 19 For, 10 Against and 0 Abstentions the Bill was then put to a committee to be considered clause by clause. The Bill was then read a third time and passed with a division of 15 For, eight Against and five Abstentions.

The Senate adjourned to Wednesday April 2nd at 10:00 a.m.

The Senate adjourned to Wednesday April 2nd at 10:00 a.m.