17th Sitting of the Senate

5th Session - 10th Republican Parliament

Tuesday 3 February, 2015
10:30 AM
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Appointment of Senators

The Vice-President announced the revocation of the appointments of Senator the Honourable Timothy Hamel-Smith, Senator the Honourable Anand Ramlogan SC, Senator the Honourable Gary Griffith, Senator the Honourable Emmanuel George and Senator the Honourable Embau Moheni. Mr. Garvin Nicholas, Brigadier General Carlton Alphonso, Mr. Brent Sancho, Mr. Kwasi Mutema and Mrs. Christine Newallo-Hosein were appointed to the Senate. Mr. Stuart Young was also appointed to temporarily replace Senator Shamfa Cudjoe, who was out of the country.

Election of President of The Senate
Raziah Ahmed elected President of the Senate

Senator Raziah Ahmed was elected President of the Senate.

Bills Brought From The House Of Representatives
Two Bills

Two Bills, The National Trust of Trinidad and Tobago (Amendment) Bill, 2015 and the Trinidad and Tobago Panama Partial Scope Trade Agreement Bill, 2014 were brought from the House of Representatives and read a first time in the Senate.

18 Papers

18 Papers were be laid. See the Order Paper and Supplemental Order Paper.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
Nine Questions

Nine Questions qualified for oral answer. See the Order Paper.

Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The Adoption of Children (Amendment) Bill, 2014

The Minister of Gender, Youth and Child Development moved the second reading of the Adoption of Children (Amendment) Bill, 2014. Sen. Faris Al-Rawi was first to enter the debate, followed by Sen. Stuart Young. Debate on the Bill was then suspended.

The Senate adjourned to a date to be fixed

By agreement, the Senate adjourned to a date to be fixed. Before adjourning members rose to congratulate the new President of the Senate on her appointment, to extend courtesies to departing Senators and welcome the Senators appointed earlier in the sitting. The sitting ended at 12:34 p.m.