House of Representatives


14th Sitting of the House of Representatives

2nd Session - 12th Republican Parliament

Wednesday 19 January, 2022
1:30 PM
Announcements By The Speaker/Deputy Speaker
Leave of absence

Leave of absence was granted to Dr. Lackram Bodoe, MP for Fyzabad, from Sittings of the House during the period January 17-21, 2022 and to Ms. Anita Haynes, MP for Tabaquite and Mr. Dinesh Rambally, MP for Chaguanas West from today’s Sitting of the House.

Hon. Bridgid Annisette-George [Speaker of the House]
Bills Brought From The Senate
Two Bills

The National Academy of the Performing Arts Bill, 2022 and the Southern Academy for the Performing Arts Bill, 2022 were brought from the Senate and read a first time in the name of the Minister of Tourism, Culture and the Arts.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
Prime Minister's Questions

Prime Minister’s Question Time is a feature of today’s Sitting. Nine questions were posed to the Prime Minister by Opposition Members.

Ms. Vandana Mohit, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Dr. Keith Rowley, MP [Prime Minister]
Mr. Arnold Ram, MP [Opposition Member]
Dr. Roodal Moonilal, MP [Opposition Member]
Mr. Rudranath Indarsingh, MP [Opposition Member]
Mr. David Lee, MP [Opposition Member]
Mr. Rodney Charles, MP [Opposition Member]
Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The Trinidad and Tobago Special Economic Zones Bill, 2021

The Minister of Trade and Industry, Sen. the Hon. Paula Gopee-Scoon, moved the second reading of The Trinidad and Tobago Special Economic Zones Bill, 2021 in the House. Debate began on the bill. Nine members contributed to the debate before the wind up by the Minister of Trade and Industry. The bill was committed to a Committee of the Whole for consideration clause by clause. No amendments were made. With 32 votes for, 0 votes against and 0 abstentions, the bill was read a third time and passed.

Sen. the Hon. Paula Gopee-Scoon [Minister of Trade and Industry]
Mr. Rushton Paray, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Faris Al-Rawi, MP [Minister of Rural Development and Local Government]
Mr. Saddam Hosein, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Brian Manning, MP [Minister in the Ministry of Finance]
Mr. David Lee, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Stephen Mc Clashie, MP [Minister of Labour]
Mr. Rudranath Indarsingh, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Minister of Finance]
Mr. Davendranath Tancoo, MP [Opposition Member]
The House adjourned to Monday January 24, 2022 at 1:30 p.m.

The Sitting concluded at 6:06 p.m.