House of Representatives


13th Sitting of the House of Representatives

4th Session - 12th Republican Parliament

Friday 1 March, 2024
1:30 PM
Announcements By The Speaker/Deputy Speaker
Leave of absence

Leave of absence was granted to Hon. Stuart Young, MP for Port of Spain North/St. Ann’s West and Mr. Saddam Hosein, MP for Barataria/San Juan, from today’s Sitting of the House.

Hon. Bridgid Annisette-George [Speaker of the House]
Bills Brought From The Senate
The Base Erosion and Profit Shifting Inclusive Framework (Country-by-Country) Reporting Bill, 2023

The Base Erosion and Profit Shifting Inclusive Framework (Country-by-Country) Reporting Bill, 2023, which was passed in the Senate on February 20, 2024, was read a first time in the name of the Minister of Finance. The Minister moved that the second reading of the bill be taken on Wednesday March 6, 2024. The motion was approved.

Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Minister of Finance]
14 Papers

Fourteen papers were laid. See the Order Paper and Supplemental Order Paper.

Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Minister of Finance]
Hon. Fitzgerald Hinds, MP [Minister of National Security]
Hon. Terrence Deyalsingh, MP [Minister of Health]
Presentation Of Reports From Select Committees
Two Reports

Two reports were presented. See the Order Paper.

Hon. Shamfa Cudjoe-Lewis, MP [Minister of Sport and Community Development]
Hon. Ayanna Webster-Roy, MP [Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister]
Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
One Urgent Question

One Urgent Question was approved for oral answer. See the Order Paper.

Dr. Roodal Moonilal, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Fitzgerald Hinds, MP [Minister of National Security]
Private Business: Motions
Mismanagement of the Education System

The House considered a Private Motion in the name of the Member for Tabaquite asking the House to condemn the government for its failure and mismanagement of the education system. Debate began on the motion. Six members contributed to the debate before the adjournment of the House.

Mrs. Anita Haynes-Alleyne, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Dr. Nyan Gadsby-Dolly, MP [Minister of Education]
Hon. Kamla Persad-Bissessar SC, MP [Leader of the Opposition]
Hon. Foster Cummings, MP [Minister of Youth Development and National Service]
Mr. David Lee, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Lisa Morris-Julian, MP [Minister in the Ministry of Education]
Ms. Vandana Mohit, MP [Opposition Member]
The House adjourned to Wednesday March 6, 2024 at 1:30 p.m.

The Sitting concluded at 6:01 p.m.