Unparliamentary Conduct of Opposition Senators

Senate - 2nd Session - 12th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS all Senators have a duty to uphold the dignity, discipline and decorum of Parliament and defend it against disrespect;

AND WHEREAS failure to uphold the dignity of Parliament, by disregarding its rules, by using unparliamentary language, by disobeying and ignoring the authority of the Presiding Officer, diminishes and erodes public confidence in said institution;

AND WHEREAS conduct calculated to obstruct, intimidate or impede Members in the discharge of their duties is a breach of privilege;

AND WHEREAS all Opposition Senators who were present at the meeting of the Electoral College on October 21, 2021 made abusive and malicious assertions; imputed false and  improper motives, and cast negative reflections on the character and impartiality of all Independent Senators during said proceedings of the Electoral College, and in the media;

BE IT RESOLVED that this Senate censure the unparliamentary conduct of said Opposition Senators who by threat or molestation have attempted to obstruct, impede, influence or interfere with said Independent Senators in the performance of their duties;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a Select Committee be established to consider and report on a code of ethical conduct and behavior for Senators.

(By Senator Anthony Vieira)

Private Motion by Senator Anthony Vieira

23 Nov 2021
Senate Debate - Day 1Hansard
7 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Anthony Vieira SC [Independent Senator]
2.The Honourable Stuart Young SC [Port-of-Spain North/St. Ann’s West] [Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister]
3.Senator Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
4.Senator Dr. Paul Richards [Independent Senator]
5.Senator the Honourable Clarence Rambharat [Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries]
6.Senator Anil Roberts [Opposition Senator]
7.Senator Dr. Varma Deyalsingh [Independent Senator]
22 Feb 2022
Senate Debate - Day 2Hansard
11 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator the Honourable Randall Mitchell [Minister of Tourism, Culture and the Arts]
2.Senator Jearlean John [Opposition Senator]
3.Senator Hazel Thompson-Ahye [Independent Senator]
4.Senator the Honourable Dr. Amery Browne [Minister of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs]
5.Senator Taylor Jowelle De Souza [Arima] [Opposition Senator (Temporary)]
6.Senator Dr. Maria Dillon-Remy [Independent Senator]
7.Senator the Honourable Donna Cox [Minister of Social Development and Family Services]
8.Senator Damian Lyder [Opposition Senator]
9.Senator Deoroop Teemal [Independent Senator]
10.Senator Yokymma Bethelmy [Government Senator]
11.Senator Anthony Vieira SC [Independent Senator]