Legislation to allow for Parliamentary Scrutiny of the EBC

Senate - 4th Session - 11th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS it is established by Section 71(1) and (12) of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, that there shall be an Elections and Boundaries Commission that in the exercise of its functions shall not be subject to the direction or control of any other person or authority;

AND WHEREAS the Elections and Boundaries Commission is responsible for holding free and fair elections throughout Trinidad and Tobago;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate take note that the Elections and Boundaries Commission is not subject to any parliamentary scrutiny or accountability in respect of its activities and operations unlike other similar independent bodies such as Service Commissions;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Senate call on the Government to take urgent steps to introduce legislation that would make the Elections and Boundaries Commission accountable to the citizenry of Trinidad and Tobago by allowing parliamentary scrutiny of its administration, the manner of the exercise of its powers, methods of functioning and any criteria adopted by the Commission in the exercise of its powers and functions.

(By Senator Wade Mark)

30 Apr 2019
Senate Debate - Day 1Hansard
5 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
2.Senator the Honourable Franklin Khan [Minister of Energy and Energy Industries]
3.Senator Dr. Paul Richards [Independent Senator]
4.Ms. Khadijah Ameen [Opposition Senator]
5.The Honourable Foster Cummings [Government Senator]
28 May 2019
Senate Debate - Day 2Hansard
8 speakersShow Speakers
1.The Honourable Foster Cummings [Government Senator]
2.Senator Deoroop Teemal [Independent Senator]
3.Mr. Saddam Hosein [Opposition Senator]
4.Senator the Honourable Jennifer Baptiste-Primus [Minister of Labour and Small Enterprise Development]
5.Senator Hazel Thompson-Ahye [Independent Senator]
6.Senator Ashvani Mahabir [Opposition Senator]
7.Senator Harvey Borris [Government Senator (Temporary)]
8.Senator Dr. Varma Deyalsingh [Independent Senator]