House of Representatives


Condemn the Government for its failure to address the serious crime level

House of Representatives - 3rd Session - 12th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS it is the Government’s responsibility to ensure the public safety and security of the citizenry;

AND WHEREAS the Government has failed in its management of the organs responsible for national security, law and order and has been unable to provide for the safety and security of citizens resulting in massive increases in serious crimes;

AND WHEREAS the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service has been progressively under-resourced and not equipped to respond effectively to the threat of widespread crime;

AND WHEREAS there has been an astronomical and continuous increase in the murder toll with a corresponding breakdown in the criminal justice system;

AND WHEREAS the Government has failed to present a clear and effective anti-crime plan to deal with this perturbing crime situation;

AND WHEREAS the Government has contributed to the disturbing crime situation as a result of 7 years of neglect in education, training opportunities, rising unemployment and a total breakdown of the social safety net;

AND WHEREAS thousands of citizens and businesses have been negatively affected by the high level of crime in Trinidad and Tobago:

BE IT RESOLVED that this House condemn the Government for its failure to effectively address the unacceptable and serious crime level affecting law-abiding citizens.

(By the Member for Barataria/San Juan)

25 Nov 2022
House Debate - Day 1Hansard
5 speakersShow Speakers
1.Mr. Saddam Hosein [Barataria/San Juan] [Opposition Member]
2.The Honourable Fitzgerald Hinds [Laventille West] [Minister of National Security]
3.The Honourable Kamla Persad-Bissessar SC [Siparia] [Leader of the Opposition]
4.The Honourable Foster Cummings [La Horquetta/Talparo] [Minister of Youth Development and National Service]
5.Mr. Dinesh Rambally [Chaguanas West] [Opposition Member]
24 Feb 2023
House Debate - Day 2Hansard
5 speakersShow Speakers
1.Mr. Dinesh Rambally [Chaguanas West] [Opposition Member]
2.The Honourable Ayanna Webster-Roy [Tobago East] [Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister]
3.Ms. Khadijah Ameen [St. Augustine] [Opposition Member]
4.Senator the Honourable Reginald Armour SC [Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs]
5.Mr. Rodney Charles [Naparima] [Opposition Member]