7th Sitting of the Senate

1st Session - 10th Republican Parliament

Monday 20 September, 2010
10:00 AM
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Leave of Absence

The Vice-President informed the House that the President of the Senate was Acting as President of the Republic. The Vice-President granted leave of absence to Sen. the Hon. John Sandy, Sen. Embau Moheni, Sen. Corinne Baptiste McKnight and Sen. Elton Prescott,SC. Mrs. Lynette Abraham, Mr. Shane Mohammed and Prof. David Picou were appointed to temporarily replace Senators Sandy, Moheni and Baptiste McKnight respectively.
The Vice-President also advised all members of the Standing Orders pertaining to relevance in debates, and tedious repetition of contributions. Later in the proceedings Mr. Ravi Ratiram was appointed to temporarily replace Sen. the Hon. Timothy Hamel-Smith.

Bills Brought From The House Of Representatives
The Appropriation (Financial Year 2011) Bill, 2010

The Appropriation (Financial Year 2011) Bill, 2010, which was passed in the House of Representatives on Friday September 17, 2010, was read a first time in the Senate.

24 Papers

24 Papers were laid. See the Order Paper and Supplemental Order Paper.

Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The Appropriation (Financial Year 2011) Bill, 2010

The Minister of Finance moved the second reading of the Budget for fiscal 2011, which was passed unanimously in the House of Representatives on 17 September 2010. Sen. Dr. Lester Henry was first to enter the debate, followed by Sen. Subhas Ramkhelawan, the Minister of Planning, Economic and Social Restructuring and Gender Affairs and Sen. Dr. Victor Wheeler. Some 10 Members made contributions including maiden contributions from the Minister of Health and Sen. Shane Mohammed. Debate on the Bill was then suspended.

The Senate adjourned to Tuesday September 21, 2010 at 11 a.m.

At its next sitting, debate is expected to resume on the Appropriation (Financial Year 2011) Bill, 2010.