4th Sitting of the Senate

2nd Session - 12th Republican Parliament

Monday 18 October, 2021
10:00 AM
A Proclamation
Virtual Attendance of members at Sittings of the Senate to be permitted

The Clerk read a Proclamation which will permit members to attend Sittings of the Senate virtually.

Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Temporary Appointment

Mr. Ndale Young was appointed to temporarily replace Sen. the Hon. Dr. Amery Browne, who was out of the country.

Sen. Ndale Young [Government Senator (Temporary)]
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Changes to Covid-19 Protocols in the Chamber
Bills Brought From The House Of Representatives
The Appropriation (Financial Year - 2022) Bill, 2021

The Appropriation (Financial Year – 2022) Bill, 2021, which was passed in the House on October 14, 2021 was read a first time in the Senate in the name of the Minister of Finance. The Minister moved that the next stage of the Bill be taken later in the proceedings.

Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Minister of Finance]
34 Papers

There are 34 Papers to be laid. See the Order Paper and Supplemental Order Paper

Motions Relating To The Business Or Sittings Of The House And Moved By A Minister Or Parliamentary Secretary
Speaking Time for Appropriation Bill

The Leader of Government Business moved that the Speaking Time for debate be restored for the Appropriation Bill only. The House agreed.

Sen. the Hon. Clarence Rambharat [Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries]
Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The Appropriation (Financial Year 2022) Bill, 2021

The Minister of Finance moved the second reading of the Appropriation (Financial Year – 2022) Bill, Senate is expected to debate the budget for fiscal 2022. Debate then began on the Bill.

Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Minister of Finance]
Sen. Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Charrise Seepersad [Independent Senator]
Hon. Stuart Young SC, MP [Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister]
Sen. the Hon. Rohan Sinanan [Minister of Works and Transport]
Sen. Damian Lyder [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Amrita Deonarine [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Avinash Singh [Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries]
Sen. the Hon. Paula Gopee-Scoon [Minister of Trade and Industry]
Sen. Dr. Maria Dillon-Remy [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Kazim Hosein [Minister of Agriculture, Lands and Fisheries]
Sen. Anthony Vieira SC [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Nigel de Freitas [President of the Senate]
The Senate adjourned to Tuesday October 19, 2021 at 10 a.m.

The budget debate is expected to continue when the Senate next sits. The Sitting ended at 6:35 p.m.