3rd Sitting of the Senate

1st Session - 10th Republican Parliament

Tuesday 13 July, 2010
1:30 PM
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Leave of Absence

The President of the Senate granted leave of absence to Sen. Rudrawatee Nan Ramgoolam and Sen. Basharat Ali. Ms. Lynette Abraham and Mrs. Parvatee Anmolsingh-Mahabir were appointed to temporarily replace Senators Ramgoolam and Anmolsingh-Mahabir respectively.

Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Appointment of Special Select Committees

The President of the Senate announced the names of members appointed to the four Sessional Select Committees of the Senate.

Statements By Ministers
Distribution of Flood Relief Cheques

The Minister of Food Production, Land and Marine Affairs made a statement on the Distribution of Flood Relief Cheques to farmers affected by recent flooding.

Government Business: Motions
Motion: State of the Economy

Debate resumed (from July 6, 2010) on a Motion by the Minister of Planning, Economic and Social Restructuring and Gender Affairs which asks the House to take note of the state of the economy. Sen. Lyndira Oudit was first to contribute, followed by Sen. Fitzgerald Hinds, Sen. Helen Drayton and the Minister of Science, Technology and Tertiary Education.

The Senate adjourned to Tuesday July 20, 2010 at 1:30 p.m.

At the next sitting, debate is expected to continue on the Motion on the State of the Economy. The sitting adjourned at 5:35 p.m.