31st Sitting of the Senate

1st Session - 10th Republican Parliament

Tuesday 29 March, 2011
1:30 PM
Announcements By The Speaker/Deputy Speaker
Leave of Absence

The President of the Senate granted leave of absence to Sen. the Hon. John Sandy, Sen. Prof. Patrick Watson and Sen. Basharat Ali. Mr. Rabindra Moonan and Dr. Vidyha Gyan Tota-Maharaj were appointed to temporarily replace Senators Sandy and Watson respectively.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
Three Questions

Three Questions qualify for oral answer. One Question (40) was answered orally and the responses to the other two circulated. See the Order Paper.

Questions To Ministers: Written Answer
Two Questions

Two Questions qualify for written response. See the Order Paper.

Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The Electronic Transactions Bill, 2011

Debate resumed on the Electronic Transactions Bill, 2011, with the Minister of Health being first to contribute, followed by Sen. Terrence Deyalsingh, the Minister of Food Production, Land and Marine Affairs and Sen. Fitzgerald Hinds. Ten Senators made contributions today (18 over the course of two days) before the Minister of Public Administration concluded. Debate was then suspended.

The Senate adjourned to Tuesday April 5, 2011 at 1:30 p.m.

Before adjourning, The Leader of Government Business, the Leader of Opposition Business, Sen. Subhas Ramkhelawan and the Vice-President of the Senate paid tribute to the Spiritual Baptist community on the occasion of Spiritual Baptist Shouter Liberation Day.