House of Representatives


28th Sitting of the House of Representatives

2nd Session - 12th Republican Parliament

Friday 6 May, 2022
1:30 PM
Announcements By The Speaker/Deputy Speaker
Leave of Absence

The Speaker granted leave of absence to Mr. Esmond Forde, MP for Tunapuna, Ms. Vandana Mohit, MP for Chaguanas East and Mr. Rushton Paray, MP for Mayaro, from today’s Sitting.

Presentation Of Reports From Select Committees
One Report

There is one Report to be presented. See the Order Paper.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
Six Questions on Notice

There are six Questions on Notice listed on the Order Paper.

Introduction Of Bills
One Bill

The Speaker put the question that the Sri Sathya Sai Baba Organisation of Trinidad and Tobago (Incorporation)(Amendment) Bill, 2022  be read a first time.

Government Business: Bills Second Reading
The Sexual Offences (Amendment)(No.2) Bill, 2021

The Attorney General moved the second reading of the Sexual Offences (Amendment)(No.2) Bill, 2021. 11 Members made contributions before the Attorney General rose to conclude. The Bill was considered in Committee of the Whole and approved without amendment. It was then read a third time and passed by a division of 33 for, none against and no abstentions.

Sen. the Hon. Reginald Armour SC [Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs]
Mrs. Anita Haynes-Alleyne, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Faris Al-Rawi, MP [Minister of Rural Development and Local Government]
Mr. Dinesh Rambally, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Ayanna Webster-Roy, MP [Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister]
Ms. Michelle Benjamin, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Lisa Morris-Julian, MP [Minister in the Ministry of Education]
Ms. Khadijah Ameen, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Fitzgerald Hinds, MP [Minister of National Security]
Mr. Rudranath Indarsingh, MP [Opposition Member]
Mr. Keith Scotland, MP [Government Member]
Hon. Stuart Young, MP [Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister]
The House adjourned to Monday May 16, 2022 at 1:30 p.m.

At the next Sitting debate is expected on a Finance Bill. The Sitting ended at 5:41 p.m.