House of Representatives


22nd Sitting of the House of Representatives

4th Session - 12th Republican Parliament

Friday 24 May, 2024
1:30 PM
Announcements By The Speaker/Deputy Speaker
Leave of absence and Recognition of Visitors

The Speaker granted leave of absence to the Member for Tunapuna (May 24-June 3) and the Members for Siparia and Mayaro (today’s sitting).

The Speaker also recognised the presence in the Chamber of Senator the Honourable Alvina Reynolds, President of the Senate of the St. Lucia Parliament, and students of the Caribbean Union College.

Ten Papers

Ten papers were laid. See the Order Paper and Supplemental Order Paper.

Hon. Camille Robinson-Regis, MP [Minister of Housing and Urban Development]
Hon. Dr. Nyan Gadsby-Dolly, MP [Minister of Education]
Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
Eight Prime Minister's Questions

Eight Prime Minister’s Questions were approved for oral answer.  The Leader of the House sought leave to have the questions deferred. See the Order Paper.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
One Urgent Question

One urgent question was approved for oral answer. See the Order Paper.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
One Question on Notice

There is one Question on Notice listed on the Order Paper. The question was answered.

Mr. David Lee, MP [Opposition Member]
Sen. the Hon. Richie Sookhai [Minister in the Ministry of Works and Transport]
Private Business: Motions
Improve the delivery of healthcare services to the people of Trinidad and Tobago

Debate resumed (from Friday April 26, 2024) on a Private Motion by the Member for Caroni East asking the House to call on Government to implement measures to immediately improve the delivery of healthcare services to the people of Trinidad and Tobago and to address mismanagement in the healthcare sector.  During Mr. Manning’s contribution, the debate was suspended briefly to revert to the laying of papers and statements by Ministers. The debate resumed subsequently. Six members contributed to the debate before the adjournment of the House.

Ms. Khadijah Ameen, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Symon de Nobriga, MP [Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister – Communications]
Mr. Rudranath Indarsingh, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Brian Manning, MP [Minister in the Ministry of Finance]
Mr. Saddam Hosein, MP [Opposition Member]
Mr. Kennedy Richards, MP [Government Member]
Statements By Ministers
Laying of the Auditor General's Report

The Minister of Finance, Hon. Colm Imbert, MP, made a  statement regarding laying the Auditor General’s Report of the Public Accounts of Trinidad and Tobago for 2023.

Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Minister of Finance]
The House adjourned to Friday June 7, 2024 at 1:30 p.m.

The House brought greetings to the nation on the upcoming celebrations of Corpus Christi and Indian Arrival Day.

The Sitting concluded at 6:19 p.m.

Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Minister of Finance]
Mr. David Lee, MP [Opposition Member]
Hon. Bridgid Annisette-George [Speaker of the House]
Hon. Terrence Deyalsingh, MP [Minister of Health]
Ms. Vandana Mohit, MP [Opposition Member]