1st Sitting of the Senate

2nd Session - 10th Republican Parliament

Monday 27 June, 2011
1:30 PM
A Proclamation
The Clerk read the Proclamation

The Clerk of the Senate will read a Proclamation declaring the Second Session of the Tenth Parliament of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago open.

Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Appointment of Senators

The President announced the revocation of the appointment of Sen. the Hon. Subhas Panday, Sen. the Hon. Therese Baptiste-Cornelis, Sen. the Hon. Rudrawatee Nan Gosine-Ramgoolam and Sen. Prof. Patrick Watson. The President also indicated the appointment of Mrs. Verna St. Rose-Greaves, Mr. Vasant Bharath, Mrs. Nicole Dyer-Griffith and Mr. Terance Baynes. In addition the President announced that Sen. Dr. Lester Henry and Sen. Corinne Baptiste-McKnight were out of the country. Mr. Deon Isaac and Dr. Lennox Bernard were appointed to temporarily replace Senators Isaac and Baptiste McKnight during their absence from Trinidad and Tobago.

Announcements By The Speaker/Deputy Speaker
His Excellency wishes to address both Houses

The President of the Senate announced that His Excellency the President wished to address both Houses assembled together. The sitting was then suspended to allow Senators to join members of the House of Representatives to await his Excellency the President.

The Senate adjourned to a date to be fixed

Upon resumption, the Senate adjourned to a date to be fixed.