House of Representatives


1st Sitting of the House of Representatives

1st Session - 10th Republican Parliament

Friday 18 June, 2010
1:30 PM
A Proclamation
The Clerk of the House will read the proclamation

The Clerk of the House read the Proclamation by His Excellency the President indicating the commencement of the First Session of the Tenth Parliament of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

Election of Speaker
Mr. Wade Mark is elected Speaker

Mr. Wade Mark was elected Speaker of the House.

Election of Deputy Speaker
Dr. Fuad Khan is elected Deputy Speaker

Dr. Fuad Khan is elected Deputy Speaker of the House, a position he held during the Fifth Republican Parliament (1995-2000).

Oath Of Allegiance Of A New Member
All Members take and subscribe to the oath of allegiance

All other Members of the House took and subscribed to the oath of allegiance.

Announcements By The Speaker/Deputy Speaker
Suspension of Sitting

The Speaker announced that the His Excellency the President wished to address members of both Houses of Parliament and suspended the sitting.

Address by the President
H.E. Prof. George Maxwell Richards, TC, CMT, Ph.D

His Excellency Prof. George Maxwell Richards, TC, CMT, Ph.D addressed members of both Houses.

Four Papers

Four Papers were laid in the name of the Leader of the House (Hon. Dr. Roodal Moonilal, MP).

Statements By Ministers
Local Government Elections

The Prime Minister made a brief statement in which she announced the date for Local Government elections (July 26, 2010). The Prime Minister also announced a reversal in policy from the previous administration with respect to the proposed relocation of the Office of the Prime Minister to the Red House.

The House adjourned to Friday June 25, 2010 at 1:30 p.m.

At its next sitting, the House is expected to debate Motions to approve the Notification of the President of the nominations by the Police Service Commission to the Office of Commissioner of Police and Deputy Commissioner of Police.