17th Sitting of the Senate

2nd Session - 9th Republican Parliament

Tuesday 26 May, 2009
1:30 PM
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Leave of Absence and Appointment of Temporary Senators

The Vice-President announced that the President of the Senate was out of the country. Mr. Noel Gayle was appointed to temporarily replace Sen. Danny Montano, Mr. Joel Primus for Sen. the Hon. Emily Gaynor Dick-Forde, Mr. Foster Cummings for Sen. Laurel Lezama, Mr. Lennox Smith for Sen. Wade Mark and Dr. Rolph Balgobin for Sen. Helen Drayton.

Nine Papers

Nine papers were laid, four by the Minister of Trade and Industry, two in the name of the Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs and three by the Minister of National Security. See the Order Paper and Supplemental Order Paper for details.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
20 Questions

20 Questions qualify for oral answer. Eight Questions were answered and the rest deferred. See the Order Paper for details.

Questions To Ministers: Written Answer
28 Questions

There are also 28 Questions on the Order Paper which qualify for written answer.

Private Business: Motions
Private Motion: Water and Sewerage Authority

Debate continued on a Private Motion by Sen. Dr. Adesh Nanan on the Water and Sewerage Authority. The Leader of Government Business concluded his contribution, followed by Sen. Basharat Ali, Sen. Dr. Sharon Ann Gopaul-Mc Nicol, the Minister of Public Utilities and the maiden contribution of Sen. Lennox Smith. Debate on the Motion was then suspended.

Matter On The Adjournment
Involvement in the Fifth Summit of the Americas

Sen. Gail Merhair raised as a Matter on the Adjournment of the Senate the issue of the failure of the Government to involve the general population of Trinidad and Tobago in the recent 5th Summit of the Americas held in Port of Spain, Trinidad. The Minister of Trade and Industry responded.

The Senate adjourned to Tuesday June 2, 2009 at 1:30 p.m.

Debate is expected to continue on the Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission (Amendment) Bill, 2009, followed by the Integrity in Public Life (Amendment) Bill, 2009. Before adjourning, the Leader of Government Business (Sen. the Hon. Conrad Enill), Sen. Dr. Adesh Nanan, Sen. Prof. Ramesh Deosaran and the Vice-President extended greetings on the occasion of Indian Arrival Day. The sitting adjourned at 5:52 p.m.