Systems to deal with incidence of violent crimes against women and girls

Senate - 1st Session - 12th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS the statistics on violent crimes against women and girls have been widely reported by the TTPS from late 2020 to present;

AND WHEREAS said reports have garnered nationwide focus and given rise to several accounts of similar experiences by women, whose cases have not been followed-up and solved by Police;

AND WHEREAS the public has consistently called for the passage of legislation and improvements to the service delivery of public agencies in relation to, inter alia, non-lethal weapons, transportation and judicial process, to support the protection of women and girls against violent crimes;

BE IT RESOLVED that this Senate call on the Government to critically assess the deficiencies in the current systems to deal with the incidence of violent crimes against women and girls;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Government present to the Parliament, within three (3) months, a legislative agenda and policy implementation plan to more effectively address the rising incidence of violence against women and girls.

(By Senator Paul Richards)

27 Apr 2021
Senate Debate - Day 1Hansard
8 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Dr. Paul Richards [Independent Senator]
2.Senator the Honourable Clarence Rambharat [Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries]
4.Senator Hazel Thompson-Ahye [Independent Senator]
5.Senator the Honourable Donna Cox [Minister of Social Development and Family Services]
6.Senator Jearlean John [Opposition Senator]
7.Senator Anthony Vieira SC [Independent Senator]
8.Senator Yokymma Bethelmy [Government Senator]
22 Jun 2021
Senate Debate - Day 2Hansard
10 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Laurel Lezama-Lee Sing [Government Senator]
2.Senator Dr. Maria Dillon-Remy [Independent Senator]
3.Senator Renuka Rambhajan [Opposition Senator (Temporary)]
4.Senator the Honourable Nigel de Freitas [Vice-President of the Senate]
5.Senator David Nakhid [Opposition Senator]
6.Senator Dr. Varma Deyalsingh [Independent Senator]
7.Senator Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
8.Senator the Honourable Hassel Bacchus [Minister in the Ministry of Public Administration and Digital Transformation]
9.The Honourable Faris Al-Rawi [San Fernando West] [Attorney General]
10.Senator Dr. Paul Richards [Independent Senator]