Speaking Time in the Senate

Senate - 1st Session - 12th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS the Senate is asked to address amongst other things, complex legislation which necessitates focused deliberations;

AND WHEREAS the current global pandemic has impacted all aspects of life in Trinidad and Tobago, including the Parliament. As such, on August 29, 2020, the Senate agreed that the "time limit for Speeches in Debates be limited to 30 minutes for the mover/Member wrapping-up and the first speaker on the Opposition and Independent Benches, and 20 minutes for all other speakers";

AND WHEREAS citizens are being encouraged to adapt to the "new normal" while observing COVID-19 safety protocols;

AND WHEREAS the business of the Parliament should similarly adapt to the "new normal" by allowing for the full time for Speeches in Debates;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate revert to the speaking time as set out in the Standing Orders with immediate effect.

(By Senator Wade Mark)

23 Feb 2021
Senate Debate - Day 1Hansard
10 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
2.Senator the Honourable Dr. Amery Browne [Minister of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs]
3.Senator Anthony Vieira SC [Independent Senator]
5.Senator the Honourable Nigel de Freitas [Vice-President of the Senate]
6.Senator Dr. Varma Deyalsingh [Independent Senator]
7.Senator Anil Roberts [Opposition Senator]
8.Senator the Honourable Franklin Khan [Minister of Energy and Energy Industries]
9.Senator David Nakhid [Opposition Senator]
10.Senator the Honourable Clarence Rambharat [Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries]
23 Mar 2021
Senate Debate - Day 2Hansard
Motion Defeated: ten for, 19 against, no abstentions
5 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Damian Lyder [Opposition Senator]
2.Senator Dr. Maria Dillon-Remy [Independent Senator]
3.Senator Jearlean John [Opposition Senator]
4.Senator Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
5.Senator the Honourable Randall Mitchell [Minister of Tourism, Culture and the Arts]