Reform of the Service Commissions

Senate - 1st Session - 12th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS the four (4) constitutionally entrenched Service Commissions namely the Public Service Commission, the Police Service Commission, the Teaching Service Commission and the Judicial and Legal Service Commission have been charged with the responsibility for the appointment, promotion, transfer and discipline within the Public Service;

AND WHEREAS the Service Commissions were also established to insulate persons holding or acting in public office from political influence, patronage and discrimination;

AND WHEREAS reported deficiencies within these Service Commissions have negatively impacted the Public Service including the extended delay within the systems of appointment, promotion and disciplinary control of public officials;

AND WHEREAS no definitive action has been taken by Governments to restructure the systems and operations of Service Commissions to better regulate the functions of the Public Service and improve service delivery to citizens;

BE IT RESOLVED that this Senate call on the Government to review the Trinidad and Tobago Constitution and the enshrined Service Commissions and to table in Parliament, within a reasonable time, a clear plan for the update of the Constitution and reform of the Commissions.

(By Senator Anthony Vieira)

17 Nov 2020
Senate Debate - Day 1Hansard
9 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Anthony Vieira SC [Independent Senator]
2.Senator the Honourable Allyson West [Minister of Public Administration and Digital Transformation]
3.Senator Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
4.Senator Hazel Thompson-Ahye [Independent Senator]
5.Senator the Honourable Franklin Khan [Minister of Energy and Energy Industries]
6.Senator Anil Roberts [Opposition Senator]
7.Senator the Honourable Clarence Rambharat [Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries]
8.Senator Dr. Paul Richards [Independent Senator]
9.Senator the Honourable Renuka Sagramsingh-Sooklal [Minister in the Office of the Attorney General and Ministry of Legal Affairs]
26 Jan 2021
Senate Debate - Day 2Hansard
13 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Jayanti Lutchmedial [Opposition Senator]
2.Senator Charrise Seepersad [Independent Senator]
3.Senator the Honourable Randall Mitchell [Minister of Tourism, Culture and the Arts]
4.Senator David Nakhid [Opposition Senator]
5.Senator Deoroop Teemal [Independent Senator]
6.Senator the Honourable Paula Gopee-Scoon [Minister of Trade and Industry]
7.Senator Amrita Deonarine [Independent Senator]
8.Senator the Honourable Nigel de Freitas [Vice-President of the Senate]
9.Senator Dr. Varma Deyalsingh [Independent Senator]
10.Senator the Honourable Dr. Amery Browne [Minister of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs]
11.Senator Dr. Maria Dillon-Remy [Independent Senator]
12.Senator Evans Welch [Independent Senator]
13.Senator Anthony Vieira SC [Independent Senator]