Government’s commitment to democracy in Trinidad and Tobago

Senate - 3rd Session - 12th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, Chap. 1:01 entrenches the principle of the separation of powers between the Legislature, the Executive and the Judiciary, which ensures the protection of citizens and a system of checks and balances in the exercise of power;

AND WHEREAS the Constitution provides protection to all constitutionally enshrined offices and institutions;

AND WHEREAS the actions of the Government in its engagement with constitutionally enshrined offices and institutions have caused public unease and concerns;

BE IT RESOLVED that this Senate calls on the Government to reaffirm its commitment to the principles and the practice of democracy in Trinidad and Tobago.

(By Senator Jayanti Lutchmedial)

23 May 2023
Senate Debate - Day 1Hansard
2 speakersShow Speakers
27 Jun 2023
Senate Debate - Day 2Hansard
7 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator Dr. Paul Richards [Independent Senator]
2.Senator Anil Roberts [Opposition Senator]
3.Senator Laurence Hislop [Government Senator]
4.Senator Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
5.Senator the Honourable Allyson West [Minister of Public Administration]
6.Senator David Nakhid [Opposition Senator]
7.Senator the Honourable Renuka Sagramsingh-Sooklal [Minister in the Office of the Attorney General and Ministry of Legal Affairs]