House of Representatives


Exempt from Import Duties of Customs 1

House of Representatives - 3rd Session - 11th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS section 56(1)(a) of the Customs Act, Chap. 78:01 that the House of Representatives may, from time to time, by Resolution, provide that any class of goods specified in the Resolution shall be exempt from import duties of Customs if the goods are imported or entered for use by any person for any purpose specified in the Resolution during any period to be fixed by the Minister in each particular case, not being a period terminating later than the date prescribed in the Resolution as the last day on which such exemption shall be operative, and subject to such conditions as the Minister may impose:

AND WHEREAS by Legal Notice No. 216 of 2015, the last Resolution in respect of the goods identified therein came into effect on 1st January, 2016 would expire on 31st December, 2017:

AND WHEREAS it is expedient that the goods continue be exempt from import duties of Customs as of 1st January, 2018:

BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives, in accordance with and subject to the provisions of section 56(1) (a) of the Customs Act, exempt from import duties of Customs the classes of goods imported and entered for use in Trinidad and Tobago for the following purposes set out in the list of Conditional Duty Exemptions in the Third Schedule to the Customs Act:

(a) Approved Industry in Part A, subheading I;
(b) Approved Agriculture, Livestock, Forestry and Fisheries in Part A, subheading II;
(c) Approved Hotels in Part A, subheading III;
(d) Approved Mining Purposes in Part A, subheading IV; and
(e) Other Approved Purposes in Part A, subheading V,

(By the Minister of Trade and Industry)

15 Dec 2017
House DebateHansard
6 speakersShow Speakers
1.Senator the Honourable Paula Gopee-Scoon [Minister of Trade and Industry]
2.Ms. Ramona Ramdial [Couva North] [Opposition Member]
3.The Honourable Shamfa Cudjoe-Lewis [Tobago West] [Minister of Tourism]
4.Mr. Rushton Paray [Mayaro] [Opposition Member]
5.The Honourable Terrence Deyalsingh [St. Joseph] [Minister of Health]
6.Senator the Honourable Paula Gopee-Scoon [Minister of Trade and Industry]