The Committee on Human Rights, Equality and Diversity

11th Republican Parliament

13 November 2015 - 3 July 2020
Secretary: Candice Skerrette; Ms. Vanna Jankiepersad (624-7275 ext. 2288/2402)
The Committee on Human Rights, Equality and Diversity, shall have the duty of considering, from time to time, and reporting whenever necessary, on all matters related to (a) the compatibility of Acts of Parliament with human rights, and any matters relating to human rights in Trinidad and Tobago (but excluding consideration of individual cases); (b) Government compliance with national and international human rights instruments to which Trinidad and Tobago is a party; and (c) the promotion of measures designed to enhance the equalisation of opportunities and improvement in the quality of life and status of all peoples including marginalised groups on the basis of gender, age (elderly, youth, children) disability and the creation of an inclusive and more equitable society through greater social justice and sustainable human development within Trinidad and Tobago. At a First Meeting of the Joint Select Committee held on Friday December 11, 2015, Dr. Nyan Gadsby-Dolly and Ms. Sarah Budhu were elected Chairman and Vice-Chairman respectively. View the Attendance Register here.