12th National Youth Parliamentary Debate

The 12th National Youth Parliament took place on Monday October 27, 2014 at the Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago. Students from 28 schools and organizations from throughout Trinidad and Tobago took part in a debate on a Private Motion by the Leader of the Opposition on Government's Policy on Corporal Punishment, Indiscipline and Delinquency.

At the conclusion of the debate, a brief ceremony was held at which the participants received tokens and certificates. One student, Xavier Richardson of St. Mary's College, was adjudged Most Outstanding Debater. The  Youth Parliamentarians then attended a reception in their honour hosted by His Excellency the President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

Stay tuned for a rebroadcast on the Parliament Network: Cable Channel 11, Radio 105.5 FM or log on to the http://www.ttparliament.org. You can also connect to our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/ttparliament or our Youth Parliament Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/ttyouthparliament.

Participating Schools:


  1. ASJA Girls’ College, San Fernando
  2. Cowen Hamilton
  3. Fyzabad Anglican
  4. Hillview College
  5. Holy Faith Convent, Couva
  6. Open Bible High School
  7. Naparima Girls’ College
  8. Parvati Girls’ Hindu
  9. Presentation College, Chaguanas
  10. Presentation College, San Fernando
  11. Princes Town West Secondary
  12. San Juan North Secondary
  13. Shiva Boys’ Hindu College
  14. Signal Hill Secondary
  15. Siparia West Secondary
  16. St. Augustine Secondary 
  17. St. Francois Girls’ College
  18. St. George’s College
  19. St. Mary’s College (CIC)
  20. St. Michael’s Home for Boys
  21. Trinidad and Tobago Hospitality and Tourism Institute (TTHTI)
  22. Trinity College
  23. University of the Southern Caribbean (USC)
  24. University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT)
  25. University of the West Indies (UWI) 
  26. University of the West Indies School of Business and Applied Studies Limited (ROYTEC)
  27. Waterloo Secondary
  28. Youth Training Centre (YTC)