Statement on the 25th Anniversary of the attempted coup

Office of the Parliament

Preserving our democracy

July 26th, 2015

Statement on the 25th Anniversary of the attempted coup

July 27th, 2015 marks 25 years since the Parliament of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (the Red House) was stormed by armed insurgents in an attempted coup d’état which resulted in the deaths of 24 persons; the holding hostage of the then Prime Minister, other Ministers, Members of Parliament and staff; the shooting of the then Prime Minister who refused to surrender our democracy to the insurrectionists; and physical and emotional injury to many others.

Those who lost their lives in and around the Red House during this time included:
· Special Reserve Police Officer, Solomon McLeod (killed at Police Headquarters)
· M.P. for Diego Martin Central, Leo Des Vignes
· Clerical Officer, Loraine Caballero · Customs and Excise Officer and former police officer, Arthur Guiseppi
· Government Broadcasting Unit Employee, Mervyn Teague · Assistant Superintendent, Roger George
· Estate Policeman, Malcolm Basanta
· Chauffeur, George Francis

The Office of the Parliament pays tribute to those who lost their lives, the hostages and those who suffered directly or indirectly as a result of the events of July 27th to August 1st, 1990.

We also acknowledge the yeoman service of those men and women whose united efforts preserved our highest institution of democracy during and after those tumultuous days, including members of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, the Defence Force, members of the Media and thousands of patriotic citizens of our beloved country.